General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

98 Stratus 2.4L Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2006, 01:37 AM
Dodgegolfer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Stratus 2.4L Won't Start

I'm new to the forum and I have a problem that I hope to get some help on.

My grown daughter bought a 98 Stratus with the 2.4L DOHC engine that was not running because of financial problems. I volunteered to help her get it running, but I didn't realize the battle I was up against. I used to be a mechanic in my younger days and I still do a lot of car work and I like to think I am good at troubleshooting. Maybe not, this one has me puzzled and I don't want to spend a lot of money trying different parts.

According to the previous owner, the car recently had the timing belt replaced, along with a tune-up, and belts and hoses replaced. It had run for a little while and then just died. They towed it home and then replaced a few other things. One thing they did was replace the plug going to the coil pack with another that has different wire colors than the original wiring and two of the wires had come out of the splices. That's one question that I will get to later.

When I got it home, I started troubleshooting and found that the fuel system seems to be working properly, but I am getting no spark. According to the Haynes and Chilton manuals, I performed the following tests with these results.

1) Voltage at the center plug going to the coil for a second or two after turning the key to run - indicates good ASD relay and circuitry.
2) After voltage goes away, then turn key to crank engine and get consistant voltage on center terminal - indicates good crankshaft position sensor and good camshaft position sensor.
The voltage tests were conducted with the meter grounded to the negative battery post. I then replaced the coil pack with the same results.