Neon SRT-4 Dodge Neon SRT-4 is the pocket rocket that took the import scene and turned it upside down.

Nervous Nancy has a question again

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2004, 11:20 PM
SRT_YA
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nervous Nancy has a question again

Hey kids,

Another quick question here: I am completely new to the turbo game in cars, I know of them, know they make lot's of power, etc... but... I have never owned one, so... with that in mind - - I keep seeing values of ~15 psi when operating at WOT, however, I am only producing roughly 10 psi. I was under the assumption this 15 value was on "stock" cars (such as mine is)... so, if this is a correct assumption, where is my other 5 psi? Is there a leak? I do hear a whoosh of air coming from the front, but again... I have never owned a turbo - so... that might just be normal... and I might just be a little paranoid

either way... just for the curious, the car has ~1300 miles on it and is complete stock, short of the floormats

Old 04-20-2004, 11:26 PM
doof432
Veteran
Default RE: Nervous Nancy has a question again

if I know right, that is the computer shutting it down. Mine really came alive when it got to 1500 miles. I never had noticed if mine only went to 10 psi, but it probably did. Also, that whoosh sound you here is the turbo releasing back pressure (I think). When you buy the $60 blow off valve, it really make a loud whooshing sound that can really scare away any competition stupid enough to pick on you...

Old 04-20-2004, 11:31 PM
SRT_YA
Record Breaker

If that's the case Doof, then I need to go drive around another 200 or so miles tonight hehehehe....

I thought the blow off worked when you backed off the throttle, the whoosh I am getting is during acceleration. Like I said, this may be normal, never owned a turbo before...

Old 04-20-2004, 11:36 PM
doof432
Veteran