Has anyone seen or test driven the new V6 diesel? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > Dodge/Ram Diesel > Ram Eco Diesel
Reload this Page > Has anyone seen or test driven the new V6 diesel?
Notices
Ram Eco Diesel Discuss topics specific to the Ram 1500 Eco Diesel

Has anyone seen or test driven the new V6 diesel?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 01-23-2014, 07:23 PM
Pedro Dog
Pedro Dog is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 1,235
Default Has anyone seen or test driven the new V6 diesel?

Looking for real life impressions of the way the 3.0 turbo diesel drives
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2014, 11:58 AM
Duso02
Duso02 is offline
Captain
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Western PA
Posts: 553
Default

There are a few reviews on youtube. One guy did a good one. Drove it for 600 miles on the review and said it did great.

Waiting to see one in person.
 

Last edited by Duso02; 01-25-2014 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2014, 02:11 PM
dirtydog's Avatar
dirtydog
dirtydog is offline
Moderate User
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 16,991
Default

24.5mpg mostly city and 31mpg mostly highway. damn. but we all know, a tuner would reduce that severely..lol

Man, they do sit really low. Whats up with that?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2014, 04:37 PM
LVRR
LVRR is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 255
Default

They have a tuner available in Europe for the Jeep Cherokee 3.0. It states up to 300 hp and 520 torque on the high setting and a possible increase of 3 to 5 mpg.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2014, 09:58 PM
POWER SEDAN's Avatar
POWER SEDAN
POWER SEDAN is offline
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 664
Default

We don't have emissions testing here with diesels, I'm interested to start seeing what the aftermarket vendors will produce with handhelds. 520 lb. torque sounds impressive for the 3.0.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2014, 09:02 AM
oldjeep's Avatar
oldjeep
oldjeep is offline
Champion
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3,459
Default

Originally Posted by dirtydog View Post
24.5mpg mostly city and 31mpg mostly highway. damn. but we all know, a tuner would reduce that severely..lol

Man, they do sit really low. Whats up with that?
Low? Looks the same height as my 09
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2014, 03:49 PM
dirtydog's Avatar
dirtydog
dirtydog is offline
Moderate User
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 16,991
Default

Well, you cant go by the start up pic because the other side of the truck in in a ditch raising the side we see higher!

Go to the 4min mark. There's only 2" in front and 3" in back for tire-fender clearance. Give or take. That is low. It just looks low. There's another shot at the 17min mark.

Also, oldjeep, you have 2wd. 4wd sits higher anyways. The truck being reviewed is 4wd.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2014, 09:54 PM
Duso02
Duso02 is offline
Captain
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Western PA
Posts: 553
Default

Must be the air suspension.
Biggest thing I noticed was the A/C receptacle has a ground now....lol When did they add that? 2013s?
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2014, 12:08 AM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech
TNtech is offline
Site Moderator-Dodge Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,421
Default

I watched a video of a TV magazine guy doing a burnout in a 3.0L Grand Cherokee last week, and i'll be danged I can't find it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2014, 12:04 PM
shieldsdb
shieldsdb is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft Stewart GA
Posts: 97
Default

I might have to trade in my 09 for this. ****ty mpg forces me to drive something else for a DD.

My lift and tires take ~4 mpg from my truck, when I'm not smashing the pedal! Same mods on this and you are still looking at ~25mpg on my commute.

I like that they added a ground plug to the 110v outlet. Question is, did they bump the amps up? I tried to run a drill from it will no luck.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Ronald_Arif
Dodge Ram Van
4
10-07-2015 02:16 PM
ARJ
Dodge/Ram Diesel
7
08-26-2015 08:51 PM
voodoo67
2nd Gen Neon
12
08-03-2015 12:47 AM
Stone007
1st Gen Ram Tech
3
07-10-2015 08:10 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.