Ramcharger, Trailduster & Power Wagon Grrrr!! Tough Trucks! The Dodge Ramcharger and Plymouth Trailduster were full size SUV's that had good looks and brute strength. The Dodge Power Wagon was comparable to them in toughness, but came in pickup truck form only.

swaping a 440 into a ramcharger.

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2007, 11:26 PM
87ramcharger440swap
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default swaping a 440 into a ramcharger.

Hi everyone im new to the sight and im coming from a totally different world. I owned a 2002 subaru wrx up until about six months ago when i was forced to sell due to exsesive speeding and things of that nature. But over the past couple years ive worked on all sorts of cars and know how to perform most mechanical tasks. So now that the car is gone i decided i wanted to get into trucks so i bought a 1987 ramcharger and then shortly after bought another running ramcharger for parts for 200 from a friend. so i stripped that. Now my question is how easy is it to swap this motor. From wht ive found from my research it looks like i need to get the mounts from a truck with a 440 in it. and then it will be easy to find the mounting location on the frame. Wht i dont know is will my 727 3 speed auto bolt up to that 440 or am i going to need and get a different trans. And also does anyone know of a place that sell body panels and sheet metal for that year dodge and or a good place in general to find restoration parts for my truck. And yes i know there is alot involved in this project but ive worked at a local garage for 3 years and my boss is very generous with shop and lift time so that really helps. Oh and one more thing Does anyone know What axles will swap in here from a different year truck but i want say a dana 70 rear and dana 60 front rear. so if there are any trucks that have that and will swap into my truck thatd be great cause i can order axles from jasper and not have to worry about tracking down a used one.