Ramcharger, Trailduster & Power Wagon Grrrr!! Tough Trucks! The Dodge Ramcharger and Plymouth Trailduster were full size SUV's that had good looks and brute strength. The Dodge Power Wagon was comparable to them in toughness, but came in pickup truck form only.

57 Dodge Truck

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2005, 01:08 AM
whitedogg
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 57 Dodge Truck

OK, I figured this may be a good place to start my search. I have been thinking about a project and looking through papers and such when today I was mowing my lawn and realized that there was the perfect project. My neighbor has a 57 Dodge 1 Ton sitting under cover. It ain't pretty, folks, but it runs. I know that it is a 57 body sitting on ... I believe it is 70 or 71 running gear. I have never dealt with this kind of a project, though I am a Heavy Equipment mechanic by trade, so I know which end of the wrench to use. But I am completely ignorant about what I should consider if I decide to jump in and take on this project.

Things I know:

It runs. The owner has driven it on the road, but the steering is lose and the brakes need lots of attention.

57 body on 70 or 71 running gear

Lots of different colors, but the interior looks like it was a light green.

It has a flat-bed.

Tires would need to be replaced eventually... all six of them.

The owner is a body man and the body is pretty straight.

I think it has a manual trans.

It hasn't run in at least a year, I would guess.

2WD

Drivers door handle missing.

It has spent it's entire life in Central Oregon which is a very dry climate. (though you wouldn't know it from this Spring)

My goal for it would be to get it one solid color (maybe John Deere Classic Green?) with all parts operational. Drive it occasionally just as a fun truck to drive. I wouldn't be in it to make money.