Ramcharger, Trailduster & Power Wagon Grrrr!! Tough Trucks! The Dodge Ramcharger and Plymouth Trailduster were full size SUV's that had good looks and brute strength. The Dodge Power Wagon was comparable to them in toughness, but came in pickup truck form only.

1974 Dodge D300

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2006, 03:56 PM
mtthwvn73
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1974 Dodge D300

Ok, I'm new to dodge (usually a Ford guy) but i'm thinking about buying a 1974 dodge D300 off my uncle. It has a 360 with an auto tranny, full time 4wd and some kind of "snow" switch on the side. I was wanting to know what kind of axles this thing should have, what kind of transmission, and what does that "snow" switch does? This truck has 70K original miles, and almost no rust and runs good. He wants $400 for it, is this a good deal? I've never owned a dodge, but i've owned 3 different 73-79 fords. Is this a good buy for a first time dodge buyer? Any advise or info will be appreciated.

Old 04-05-2006, 04:38 PM
Batphreak
Veteran
Default RE: 1974 Dodge D300

Sounds like you're looking at a "Snow Commander" they came from the factory witha plow setup and full-time 4wd. They're pretty tough trucks, the 360 is definitely a darn good engine $400 sounds like a darn fine price to me. If you're used to older trucks there isn't much different that can/will go wrong with Dodges.

Old 04-05-2006, 06:48 PM
mtthwvn73