2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

5.9 Magnum Engine

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday | 06:33 PM
Ruby5.9
|
Default 5.9 Magnum Engine

Hey there everybody, I have a question to ask about the 5.9 magnums.. It's probably a dumb question but I am by no means a mechanic or anything... Are 5.9 magnums carbureted or are they fuel injected? I'm raising this question because I was looking at 360 magnum engines on eBay motors for shats and gaggles when I noticed the distributor cap.. which led me to believe that the engine is carbureted, but at the same time I've never taken a solid look into it even with my own truck. Something tells me it's not carbureted but I want to reach out here because I know somebody will have a definite answer. Thank you for reading and thank you for your time reader.

Old Yesterday | 06:52 PM
dodgetruck2
Record Breaker

The magnum line starting in the late 80s is multi port fuel injection, meaning an injector in every hole. It does still run a distributor that has computer controlled spark timing.

Old Yesterday | 10:51 PM
AtomicDog
Champion

Folks do modify and run carburetors on 5.9 magnum engines, as aluminum intake manifolds are readily available for them to accept a 4 barrel carburetor.

Old Yesterday | 11:40 PM
ol' grouch
Champion

Originally Posted by Ruby5.9