1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Left Signal & Hazrds Dead When Headlights are on.

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2014, 02:32 PM
Bimmer
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Left Signal & Hazrds Dead When Headlights are on.

I'm stumped but then I'm no electrician. Here's the scenario:

Hazards and right turn signal work fine when the headlights are off. The display on my radio blinks with the turn signal when the LEFT turn signal is activated.

Turn the headlights or even just the running lights and only the right turn signal works. The left doesn't work, the hazards don't work and even though the right does work....the radio display is not effected.

Before you comment on the flasher, that's the first thing I did, thinking that was the problem, I replaced it. That did not resolve my issue. Any thoughts?
Thanks folks and Happy New Year!

Old 01-10-2014, 05:09 PM
hydrashocker
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Check the plugs inside and make sure there is no corrosion. Your issue should be a simple grounding problem. You may also need to run a new ground if you cant find it.

Old 01-10-2014, 05:34 PM
that_guy
Champion
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Sounds like you've got a short somewhere. I'd check the tail lights first (see if you have the problem with them disconnected) and check the wires to the front lights too.

Old 01-10-2014, 06:08 PM
Bimmer
Rookie

Thanks gentlemen! I will be checking those spots out tomorrow. It's been too wet out today and tomorrow will be sunny and warmer.

Old 01-11-2014, 07:42 AM
Bimmer
Rookie