Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 1st Gen Durango
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:33 AM
JCswm JCswm is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 363
Default Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

Durango only
This one Kicked my *** the first time I got one




The crankshaft sensor shorts out internally and grounds the 5V wire the modiules use to "talk" to each other.
That's all, If you have a scan tool you think lightning hit your car 'cause you can't get any info from any module
climb under the passenger side of your truck with a new crank sensor and a 10mm ..... anything, one easy bolt holds it in!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________


I still fix Dodges, and I'm pretty good at it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:40 AM
ricocivi ricocivi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

John - thanks - you just saved me a bundle on trying to find a new PCM or paying $700+ for an instrument cluster (the local mechanic I use had the exact issue you said - no commo using the scanner & called a buddy at Dodge who said it was a circuit board on the instrument cluster that was overheating). Anyhow, I'll get one tomorrow and pray it takes care of the problem so me and my open fisherman can get some lobster next week! Greatly appreciate it - let me know how I can pay you back (I have some excellent cigars from the Canary Islands - could send you a couple!)
__________________
'99 Silver Durango 5.9L 2x4 w/ Tow package
Stock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:49 AM
JCswm JCswm is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 363
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

Lobster..... Did you say LOBSTER
just kidding, just send your friends a link to this thread & tell them to join the site!!!
__________________


I still fix Dodges, and I'm pretty good at it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:04 AM
ricocivi ricocivi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

Will do!
__________________
'99 Silver Durango 5.9L 2x4 w/ Tow package
Stock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2004, 07:17 PM
rockadaous rockadaous is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N.C.
Posts: 240
Send a message via AIM to rockadaous
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

[sm=smiley32.gif] great catch john
__________________
rock
99 SLT + 4x4
a few mods
My Durango
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:03 AM
russellsomething russellsomething is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

ok im no mechanic well actully i rebuild alison transmissions or at least i use to but i have a 99 dodge durango and had the same problem no bus on the odometer i freind contacted a friend at the dealership and they told them it was one of three things its the computer, dash cluster or loss wireing but one thing that will tell you if its the computer is if you hook a scan computer up on the inside of your car and the vehicle powers the scan devise up but reads nothing then it is most deffenitly the computer gone bad which will run you about $375 rebuilt with auto zone which takes 4 to 6 weeks or you can get a used one no warrenty for the same price in about 7 to 10 days but i have another problem now i think my ignition is bad from the same time because it wouldnt start but i ran a targa switch from battery to starter selinoid and it started right up if its not one thing it is another
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2006, 12:11 AM
windkist windkist is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

We have a 99 dodge durango that is stalling and we have replaced the crank sensor but, after picking it up today it stalled again! we are so frustrated as we've only had this vehicle for maybe 4 weeks and 2 of that its been at the mechanic trying to get it to stall so, they can read a computer code. HELP!!!!! we are at our wits end!

Leah
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2006, 11:33 PM
kay1330 kay1330 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 50
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

I have a 99 D that kept stalling and never under the same circumstances, hot, cold, just started or running for hours.....We tried the crankshaft thing and a control module thing they said would fix it, it didn't.... My problem was the PCM, and it was under warranty up to 80,000 miles, so they gave me the run around because they really didn't want to give me a new one for free....Go for the PCM, Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2006, 07:30 PM
Custnam Custnam is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

I went ahead and bought a new/remnufactured one from ecu direct.com for $434 and it fixed it. But the trucks being repoed soon. So Ill be pulling the good one out and reinstalling the bad one. So anyone that wants to get rid of their "no bus" problem for good make me an offer and Ill let it go. My email is Custnam@aol.com Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:02 PM
99scdakota 99scdakota is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Default RE: Stalling or no start NO BUS on odometer

Silly question guys and gals...

I'm trying to replace the crankshaft position sensor module. How do you remove the plastic grommets on the inner fender splash shields? I tried popping them off, but found that they were threaded in. The grommets are circular with a circular indentation in the middle. Not sure what kind of tool to use to take these off. Help please....
__________________
Thanks,

99SCDakota
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:15 PM
TjTazz TjTazz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram 2500 V/8 magnum ext. cab
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to TjTazz
Default

The "no bus" code strikes again. Truck was plowing for 22 hrs straight and died out of no where. I have a 2002 Dodge Ram V/8 manum ext. cab p/u with an 8" bed pushing a 7 1/2' western minute mount plow. Bought used in 2005, never a problem till recently. First the tranny lost reverse & had to rebuild with a h/d shift kit. Next came the headlights, lost the low beam, Brights worked but the low beam didn't. Had to replace the ground wire @ the module. Most recent is the infamous "no bus", after turning off the truck while refueling we started the truck and after putting it in drive and gave it gas it stalled.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:43 PM
IndyDurango's Avatar
IndyDurango IndyDurango is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Vehicle: 2000 Demon Durango SLT+
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,822
Default

Is this your Ram or a Durango?
__________________

- Truck of the Month: 12/2006 & 06/2012 DodgeForum.com;
01/2006 DurangoClub.com; 07/2007 Dakota-Durango.com
- Durangoer of the Year: 2006 DurangoClub.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:44 PM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325 shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicle: 2013 Challenger R/T
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 19,119
Send a message via AIM to shrpshtr325
Default

you need to post this in the ram section, this is meant for durangos, but it sounds to me like you have a loose wire somewhere
__________________


-Phillip's Law: Four-wheel-drive just means getting stuck in more inaccessible places.

bikes?
live in NJ?
REAR WIPER CLUB MEMBER #2

Quote:
altair: I need something that lets me stab people in the face over the internet
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-07-2010, 01:02 AM
fastyz400 fastyz400 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default

We'll, My Durango (2000 5.9L) is getting the "no bus" as well. I am trying to determin if it is the ecm that went bad. The problem that I have read on other forums is that the board inside the computer may have cracked or wraped and if you move press in the the plugs your car will run again.


Procedure:
1. Key in the on position
2. Use your hand and press and move the wires around on each of the connectors that goes into the ecm. Listen for the relay to click (Relay box located right behind the battery). Now go back and start your truck. Mine happens to be the connector closest to the firewall. I have read others that the middle plug was the issue.

Here is another writeup on Shut-down Feature in Dodges
http://www.ehow.com/how-does_4924742...l-driving.html
Shut-down Feature in Dodges
Dodge vehicles have a similar shut down feature. The shut down feature in Dodge vehicles is located in the computer. It is called the auto shut down relay. It will shut the vehicle down if the vehicle rolls over. There is no way to manually turn it back on. If this switch goes bad, the only way to fix it is to replace the computer.

All vehicles have an idle air motor or valve. The idle air is governed by the computer and changes the idle. When you turn on the air compressor, you use some engine resources. This makes the idle speed on the engine drop. The computer senses this drop and sends information to the idle air to turn up the idle so the car does not stall. If this part breaks, when you slow down to a stop or to turn a corner, the car may stall.


Just today, my car wouldn't start by doing the above mentioned. When the transmission was in park. But, when i put it in neutral it starts. This was off & on incident. Decided to replace the neutral safety switch located on my tranny (part 56028181). This part is tied into the ignition system. I'm hoping that this fixes the problem. I will report back if this does not fix the problem. My thoughts are could somehow the swithch was bad, so, while your driving it tells the ecm that tranny just went to park and to shut down the motor? Any thoughts from more experienced techs would be great.

I will be replacing the ecm if the neutral safety switch doesn't fix it.

Last edited by fastyz400; 08-07-2010 at 01:42 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-07-2010, 08:10 PM
fastyz400 fastyz400 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default

Well the Switch on the tranny didn't work. Truck still stalled. Just ordered a new ecm.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-09-2010, 02:00 PM
kpmink kpmink is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default No bus

i have had the same issues. i should have read looked here first before making my repairs.

i would have saved some money. this site rocks
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-14-2010, 03:00 AM
fastyz400 fastyz400 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default

Reman ECM went in 2 days going without a stall. I'll post after 1 week, then 1 month.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:37 PM
fastyz400 fastyz400 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default

It's been 1 week. No stalling has occured. Did notice the engine warms up faster & runs hotter now.

Had to put a bottle of that radiator stuff in where it lowers coolant temp. to lower the temps.

It would go to like 225 deg F. after the bottle, it stays at around 210 deg F. in arizona's hot 117-118 deg. weather.

On the highway It cools great.

Before the new computer, it would hold a steady 180-200 F. I've noticed a better gas mileage with the new ecm as well.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-19-2010, 11:13 PM
Mean Green's Avatar
Mean Green Mean Green is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Vehicle: 00' Dodge Durango
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 4,176
Default

Are you using water wetter? I've heard good things about it's ability to improve cooling efficiency. I wouldn't use it if you have even the smallest coolant leak though. It reduces the coolants surface tension and will leak a lot easier.
__________________

HD Diesel Mechanic
00 Durango 5.9L SLT
I've got a few things done
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-20-2010, 12:00 AM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: GJ, Colorado
Posts: 14,214
Default

Could just be the sensor. You need to take an accurate temp on the coolant and verify that it is in fact that hot.
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides --- #1 - V10 Club - Club Member

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 12:00 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
99, bus, computer, dakota, dodge, durango, message, no, nobus, odometer, ram, reads, shorts, sport, stratus

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails