Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 1st Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Idle relearn

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-17-2011, 01:07 PM
RamKing's Avatar
RamKing RamKing is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 1987 dodge ram D100
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 121
Default Idle relearn

Hey

I recently changed my alternator now my truck idles funny, i was wonder if there is an idle relearn to make it go back to normal?

thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2011, 04:38 PM
wontacceptthis's Avatar
wontacceptthis wontacceptthis is offline
Record Breaker
1972 Volkswagen Beetle
My Garage
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle: 1989 D250 318, auto
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,013
Default

Something doesn't sound right. You can reset the computer i think by cycling the key something like 3 or 5 times. Your check engine light should flash. I think. But i think that only clears codes.
__________________
1989 ram d250, 318, 727, 3.9 gears, glasspack, weiand triangle filter, finally got repainted again!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2011, 05:46 PM
jacob's Avatar
jacob jacob is offline
Professional
1993 Dodge Ram 250
My Garage
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 114
Default

Changing the alternator shouldn't change your idle, but if you want to reset the computer, just leave your battery terminal off for a coupe minutes and it will reset. If that doesn't correct it then you have something else going on... make sure you didnt knock off any vacuum lines or wires while you were changing the alt.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2011, 02:32 PM
RamKing's Avatar
RamKing RamKing is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 1987 dodge ram D100
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 121
Default

seems to be ok now, had the same problem when i changed my battery terminals. I sure all the vacuum lines are on, owell it starts im happy lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 02:32 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2