1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1986 Ram D150 restoration project

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2012, 12:59 AM
grandpa's86
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1986 Ram D150 restoration project

I just signed up so I might as well introduce myself first. My name is Joe and I am a sophomore in college, I work at a classic car restoration shop in the summers and I am an avid BMW fan. Ive got a 1992 bmw 318is as a daily driver that I have done extensive work on. But none of you care about that so on to the truck...

Its a 1986 Dodge Ram D150 with the 5.2l v8 that my grandfather bought new back in 1986. He had it all the way until he passed away unexpectedly in 1999. My grandmother then sold the truck to a family friend for really cheap and we all slowly forgot about it.

I got a call from my grandma about a year ago and told me that the guy who had the truck no longer had a use for it and that he was looking to get rid of it. I immediately contacted him and he told me that I could have it for nothing since it belonged to my grandfather as long as I took good care of it and never sold it. The truck had been used as a campground utility vehicle for the past 12 years and hadn't seen the road for the last ten or so. It had, however, been stored in the barn (with a concrete floor) every winter so it was basically rust free! The downsides were, being a work truck, that it was covered in dents and the interior was destroyed.