o2 sensor bypass - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Dakota 1997 - 2004 Dakota's

o2 sensor bypass

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-28-2007, 10:59 PM
KotaSport00 KotaSport00 is offline
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 34
Default o2 sensor bypass

yeah i know its not legal! But I want to remove my cat. I also don't want my check engine light to stay on. See my dilema? Does anybody know where i can get a bypass? I think they may be called "mil eliminators". Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2007, 11:04 PM
User User is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2001 Bright Silver Metallic Dakota R/T RC 5.9L
Location: Roanoke, Texas
Posts: 3,051
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

Quote:
ORIGINAL: KotaSport00

yeah i know its not legal! But I want to remove my cat. I also don't want my check engine light to stay on. See my dilema? Does anybody know where i can get a bypass? I think they may be called "mil eliminators". Thanks for any help
you mean simms.. fastman sales them, IMHO i think they cause more problems then good. Just plug the o2 holes in the exhuast and tie the o2 sensor to the frame rail, drive it and see it it tosses any codes if it does, you can use a simm.. but after awhile they cause alot of problems.. crysler likes to link everything to the o2 sensors.. including the tranny.. good luck.

If i where you i would just find somone that doesnt mind passing the truck even though the c/e light is on. toss him a 50$ or 100$ depending on the person and see if they toss back a sticker..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2007, 11:07 PM
dwhess504 dwhess504 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

My truck seems to surge when it is driving mostly under 2k rpm and soes it at idle... My 2nd o2 sensor is throwing a code could that be the problem? Just wondering if any problems can result from the o2 sensor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2007, 11:41 PM
User User is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2001 Bright Silver Metallic Dakota R/T RC 5.9L
Location: Roanoke, Texas
Posts: 3,051
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

lots of problems can result from o2s...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2007, 01:49 AM
injmopar injmopar is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: WPG.MB
Posts: 326
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

Why not have a O2 bung welded in to the tube that will replace your cat . You can't leave out the O2 on a dodge with out cuasing problems .The computer will keep trying to fix the lean or rich condition that it see .The O2 will not see a change so the computer will keep adding or leaning more fuel.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:03 AM
dodgerules86's Avatar
dodgerules86 dodgerules86 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle: 1996 Dakota 4x4, 3.9L, extended cab, automatic.
Location: Sycamore, Illinois (displaced to Arkansas)
Posts: 4,120
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

If you cut the cat out, and leave the rear O2 in, it should throwat least 1 code (for the cat not working).
I mean, by the book, unless you install a sim, pretty much anything should throw a code.
You mighttry what User2006 said, and tie the rear O2 to the frame rail. I'm guessing that what he did, and it must have worked for him.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2007, 06:26 AM
5 speed 5 speed is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 221
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

i have an O2 sim in my truck and no cat, no check engine and NO problems the simulator was $80 and i bought it from detroit speed shops and they do have a website im not sure what it is though because im local
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2007, 04:26 PM
dodgedakota98luver dodgedakota98luver is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

seeyour going about it all wrong its simple my c/e light has been on for over a year and i dont see it thanx to a magical thing called black electrical tape just cut a little square take the cover off your gauges and place it over the light
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2007, 05:31 PM
Chris Chris is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,909
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

Quote:
ORIGINAL: dodgedakota98luver

seeyour going about it all wrong its simple my c/e light has been on for over a year and i dont see it thanx to a magical thing called black electrical tape just cut a little square take the cover off your gauges and place it over the light
Possibly one of the worst ideas I have ever heard. Get a Flowmaster Hi-Flow cat. You will still meet emissions standards without sacrificing performance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:47 PM
KotaSport00 KotaSport00 is offline
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 34
Default RE: o2 sensor bypass

yeah i thought about the high flow cat
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[4th Gen : 01-07]: Rough Idle/O2 Sensor Issues...HELP!!! Miketech137 Dodge Caravan 5 10-20-2015 07:27 PM
In & Out of lock-up/Tranny temp sensor Fubba 2nd Gen Ram Tech 2 07-28-2015 12:41 AM
Tcc lock bypass switch Khris1994 2nd Gen Ram Tech 9 07-21-2015 09:41 AM
2002 dodge neon 2.0 sohc colons3499 Dodge Neon 0 07-09-2015 04:57 PM
[5th Gen : 08+]: Rear A/C in 2009 not blowing bombera77 Dodge Caravan 1 07-09-2015 02:03 PM


Tags
buy, bypass, caravan, dakota, dodge, eliminators, grand, hemi, neon, o2, ram, sensor, sensors, simulator, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 PM.