2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

My first Dakota.

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2009, 03:16 PM
EvoLife
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question My first Dakota.

I'm a happy noob here. After my 214K mile Nissan truck was totaled I started looking for a used replacement. As you could imagine I didn't get much for my truck from the insurance company. I pretty much settled into the quad cab 2nd gen Dakota for many reasons. I found a bunch for sale locally and immediately started lurking here to become a better informed buyer.

So now I have some questions so it was time to register. I love vBulletin.

I've never owned a Dodge, however my wife drives a TJ, so that's close. My BIL drives a 24V 2500 auto club cab, which is awesome. I wanted a 97 Dakota club cab when they came out but had to buy from the lot, insisted on manual trans, and couldn't find one within a 5 state search. I bought a Nissan instead.

Well I found the truck I think I'm going to buy this week. 2001, quad, 4x4, auto, SLT, every option, dark blue two tone. It needs tires and the seller is bettering the price because of it. I looked at and drove it yesterday. Brought my cardboard, slid underneath it, and checked everything over.

This is what I found and what I need some feedback about:
- minor leakage from the output shaft seal. The crossmember was wet, not just oily, but I thought it was very minor.
- the ball joints seem fine and tight. The truck has 129K, he's had it since 50K, and never had a problem with the balljoints. The uppers are bolted in, not rivited. There was a TSB and recall on them, right? Is there a way to tell if they have been taken care of? Factory ball joints wouldn't last 129K, right?
- passenger side CV boot is ripped. They are a PITA to replace, aren't they? Keep in mind, I'll turn all the bolts myself. Nothing I won't attempt except.....I'll get to that in a min.