Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 2nd Gen Durango
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Durango 2004 - 2009

Tire pressure sensor

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-25-2012, 11:10 AM
sebvegas sebvegas is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default Tire pressure sensor

Hi everyone,
I bought last week a 2005 durango with the Hemi V8 Magnum engine.
But the tyre pressure light on the dashboard stays lit, do you have any idea why ? I checked the pressure of all the tyres, everyone of them are at 34 psi so I guess they're OK, right ?
Thanks for you help
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2012, 11:18 PM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
2010 Dodge Dakota
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,249
Default

There may be a bad tire pressure sensor in one of the tires, triggering the light.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:43 AM
sebvegas sebvegas is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

All right, thank you for the answer, and what can I do about that ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2012, 07:45 PM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
2010 Dodge Dakota
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,249
Default

With that light on, there should be a code or something to tell you which tire is supposedly low/bad. I have never had tire pressure sensors before, you may need to look up how to get it to tell you which one (manual? Google?) is giving you the error, and replace that sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2012, 01:29 PM
1969CoronetR/T's Avatar
1969CoronetR/T 1969CoronetR/T is offline
vaffanculo
Dodge Forum Moderator
1969 Dodge Coronet
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Vehicle: 1969 Coronet R/T - 1969 Mr. Norms Super Bee - 2014 Jeep SRT
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 7,752
Default

GM emails a diagnostic chart with individual tire pressures. Chrsyler has sensors that only tell you that tire pressure is low and you have to guess which one is low. It is a fun game to play,
FF
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2012, 01:22 AM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
2010 Dodge Dakota
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fascistfaction View Post
GM emails a diagnostic chart with individual tire pressures. Chrsyler has sensors that only tell you that tire pressure is low and you have to guess which one is low. It is a fun game to play,
FF
Oh, that does sound like fun.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2012, 08:13 AM
sebvegas sebvegas is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Yes I'm prettu sure it's fun but the funniest part of it is that I double checked all my tyres pressure and they're all good.
So I'm guessing that one of the electrical wire is out or something like that.
Maybe it's a fuse as well, is there a fuse somewhere for that sensor ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:20 PM
sebvegas sebvegas is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

All right, so I double checked my tires pressure, even the spare tire and all of them are good.
I guess I just have to go to the dodge dealer and see what's going on ...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2012, 07:28 PM
sebvegas sebvegas is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

OK guys, I went to the dodge dealer for this light, so they plugged their computer and see what's going on ...
The fact is that my dodge doesn't have any tires sensors but has the computer for it ... So the computer was kinda messed up (of course, they're no sensors sending signals) so the light was always on.
They just shut the light off.

Thanks again for all of your help guys
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:28 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails