reverse lights dont work need help - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

reverse lights dont work need help

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-22-2009, 12:13 AM
Frogsnot
Frogsnot is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 13
Default reverse lights dont work need help

Alright so when i bought my truck the reverse lights didnt turn on at all. (something i didnt notice when i bought it from the dealership my bad) a friend told me and for awhile now ive just put it off until now. ive been doing work on my truck and decided it was about time to fix the reverse lights. so i checked to see if simply both bulbs were bad. their brand new, i tested to see if i got power to the plug for the bulbs and nothing. (the truck was in reverse).

So my ? is is their a sensor somewhere by the shifter that turns the reverse lights on? and if so is it bad? or is their something else it could be?

Darion
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2009, 12:17 AM
wjxavier's Avatar
wjxavier
wjxavier is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,135
Default

could be a fuse...if you're not getting power to your lights, it could also be a crappy wire connection. thats usually what it is for me when my lights go out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2009, 12:33 AM
Frogsnot
Frogsnot is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 13
Default

checked my fuses and my wiring seems to be ok i really cant tell no power is running through it. my trailer lights and every other light including my stupid license plate lights all work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:32 AM
99DRAM31887's Avatar
99DRAM31887
99DRAM31887 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Angelo,Texas
Posts: 336
Default

its ur neutral saftey switch i had a 99 with the same problem i went to autozone and paid like 10 bucks for a new one and it took me like 5 mins in my drive way and they worked after that ill bet money its ur saftey switch
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 06:35 AM
jjtroutbum's Avatar
jjtroutbum
jjtroutbum is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: High Ridge, MO
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99DRAM31887 View Post
its ur neutral saftey switch i had a 99 with the same problem i went to autozone and paid like 10 bucks for a new one and it took me like 5 mins in my drive way and they worked after that ill bet money its ur saftey switch
Would be my first guess.

Simple check for neutral park reverse light sensor is to be able to start/turnover the truck in any gear besides park or neutral. Just don't try it parked near anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:59 PM
98BlueSport's Avatar
98BlueSport
98BlueSport is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 181
Default

I dont have any reverse lights either. My i think my wireing harness is a little messed up, because if i have a trailer hooked up the trailer lights stay on all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2009, 01:14 AM
99DRAM31887's Avatar
99DRAM31887
99DRAM31887 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Angelo,Texas
Posts: 336
Default

well my 99 would still only start in neutral or park but the reverse lights going out is a sign of the switch going out and its real easy to replace its on the drivers side of the tranny u just need a deep socket i just cant remember what size and it comes out along with some t.fluid and just put the new one in and top ur tranny off
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2009, 01:16 AM
dodge15004x45.9's Avatar
dodge15004x45.9
dodge15004x45.9 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Malvern Pa - Canadensis Pa
Posts: 7,950
Default

What about bulbs?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2009, 05:01 PM
Frogsnot
Frogsnot is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 13
Default

alright ill try that, why does it leak transmission fluid? and my bulbs are good if that ? was to me.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2009, 06:42 PM
Ram15002ndGen's Avatar
Ram15002ndGen
Ram15002ndGen is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,011
Default

It leaks tranny fluid because it is connected into the tranny. Have your new switch near you ready to go with some teflon tape on the threads ready to install the minute you take out the old one and you should have minimal leakage. There arent too many choices, fuses, wiring, harness, bulbs, neutral switch, that's it. One of those is bad. I replaced a neutral safety switch on a 1970 AMC and it was easier cause it was inside the passenger compartment on the steering column.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
LONEWOLF2007
2nd Gen Durango
5
12-06-2016 05:04 PM
dael
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
06-18-2016 11:49 PM
Lyniaer
1st Gen Durango
2
11-12-2015 02:39 PM
adkent
3rd Gen Durango
4
10-02-2015 11:33 PM
kassie78
Dodge Caravan
0
07-06-2015 11:23 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send