Questions about torquing - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Questions about torquing

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-24-2013, 11:49 AM
SlingMudd SlingMudd is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9L
Location: Gainesville Florida
Posts: 96
Default Questions about torquing

hello guys i am replacing my upper and lower ball joints along with the wheel hub assembly and now i am putting it all back together and was looking in my manual and the torque for the ball joints kinda confused me a little i think the lower ball joint gets torqued to 80ftlbs and upper is 75ftlbs is that correct? This is for the castle nuts not the actual joint itself. Thanks for the help its a 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2013, 04:53 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

If thats what the manual says then I guess it's right. Back the nut(s) off a little to line up the cotter pins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2013, 05:04 PM
Gary-L's Avatar
Gary-L Gary-L is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2005
Vehicle: 2007 Ram 1500 4x2 Big Horn aka The Silver Bullet
Location: Norman, Okla-mobile-homa
Posts: 8,401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zman17 View Post
If thats what the manual says then I guess it's right. Back the nut(s) off a little to line up the cotter pins.

NO! A fastener should never be backed off when it is torqued. If any of the slots do not match with the cotter hole then tighten the fastener until they line up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2013, 05:33 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary-L View Post
NO! A fastener should never be backed off when it is torqued. If any of the slots do not match with the cotter hole then tighten the fastener until they line up.

A castle nut yes. Read the manual!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2013, 06:47 PM
clipper77 clipper77 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Vehicle: 2014 CTD
Location: Mass.
Posts: 279
Default

Over-torquing can cause stripping of the threads in certain situations...be careful.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2013, 06:55 PM
kejobe's Avatar
kejobe kejobe is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '13 Wrangler Sport S 3.6L Auto
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,168
Default

I didn't torque. I just tightened them and then adjusted the torque on the castle nut to line up the cotter hole and slot to the closest one.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2013, 07:41 PM
ryan0714 ryan0714 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,316
Default

exactly what he said above, i used to build fighter planes for the military and on castle nuts, u torque it and then either or a hair forward or backwards to line up the hole, which ever is closer, but more so 90% of the time, torque it just a hair more instead of backin it off.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2013, 10:26 PM
SlingMudd SlingMudd is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9L
Location: Gainesville Florida
Posts: 96
Default

10-4 thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2013, 08:02 PM
Spillage's Avatar
Spillage Spillage is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle: 98 RAM1500 Sport 5.2L Man SWB 4x4 3.55 LSD (Original Owner)
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 1,715
Default

My Naval Aviation training taught me that in instances that require back off to line up, it should be backed off a little further than needed, then tightened again to the line up point.

Castellated nuts should have a torque range spec'd... usually about a 5-10% window to allow for alignment.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2013, 11:13 PM
AtomicDog AtomicDog is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9 Magnum 4x4 SLT
Location: Central VA
Posts: 1,168
Default

I always tighten to align the cotter pin and have NEVER pulled a thread or encountered an issue with this procedure. Works for me..
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 2500 questions draco8494 Dodge/Ram Diesel 5 08-06-2015 11:39 PM
Doing brake job, can't find caliper bracket torque specs skid2964 3rd Gen Dakota 7 08-04-2015 01:34 AM
315/70/17 05 durango kkxlt05 2nd Gen Durango 2 07-30-2015 01:40 AM
V 10 torque converter stormer426 2nd Gen Ram Tech 17 07-29-2015 10:33 AM
Doing a fluid change and need bolt torque specs mTn_biKer65 3rd Gen Dakota 1 07-16-2015 03:07 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.