Transmission Fluid/Filter change - DodgeForum.com


3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Transmission Fluid/Filter change

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 09-27-2013, 06:26 PM
Rkymtnh's Avatar
Rkymtnh
Rkymtnh is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Valkerswille, Marxland
Posts: 104
Default Transmission Fluid/Filter change

I'll be changing the Transmission Fluid and Filter this weekend on my 05 Ram.
After the pan is off and all the fluid has Drained/Spilled out.
Is there a timetable to begin the refill ? or, is it more like,
After I've cleaned the mess up, I can then start to refill ?

Which brand to use ?

-- Castrol/Transmax ATF+4
-- Valvoline/ATF+4
-- Auto-zone ATF+4


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2013, 06:31 PM
Rkymtnh's Avatar
Rkymtnh
Rkymtnh is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Valkerswille, Marxland
Posts: 104
Default

Also. Is adding a bottle of Lucas Trans Conditioner a good idea at this point ?
Trans has 139,000 miles on it. I towed a Jeep and trailer approx. 8 times a
year for the past two years up thru the mountains of Pennsylvania.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2013, 09:17 PM
MikeHTally's Avatar
MikeHTally
MikeHTally is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N. Florida
Posts: 4,669
Default

Mine probably drained for a couple or three hours while I cleaned the pan and applied a thin layer of RTV (mostly to hold the new gasket in place). I used seven quarts of Valvoline.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2013, 02:26 AM
Prismatic
Prismatic is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 545
Default

Do not add any transmission additives to the fluid.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2013, 08:33 AM
Rkymtnh's Avatar
Rkymtnh
Rkymtnh is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Valkerswille, Marxland
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHTally View Post
Mine probably drained for a couple or three hours while I cleaned the pan and applied a thin layer of RTV (mostly to hold the new gasket in place). I used seven quarts of Valvoline.
Gotcha.That's a good idea. It does look like the gasket will need a little help staying in it's place. Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prismatic View Post
Do not add any transmission additives to the fluid.
Ok. Not doubting you, just wondering if there's a reasoning for not adding any ? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2013, 03:05 PM
HemiLonestar's Avatar
HemiLonestar
HemiLonestar is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 3,269
Default

I take it you guys decided to add a gasket, or was this with an aftermarket pan? OEM uses RTV to seal the pan; my PML pan came with a gasket.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2013, 03:25 PM
Rkymtnh's Avatar
Rkymtnh
Rkymtnh is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Valkerswille, Marxland
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HemiLonestar View Post
I take it you guys decided to add a gasket, or was this with an aftermarket pan? OEM uses RTV to seal the pan; my PML pan came with a gasket.
There were two different trans filter kits to get.
The one I bought, which said it was for the 15 bolt pan, came with a gasket.
The other one says to use RTV.

I also bought a tube of Black RTV, just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2013, 10:43 AM
catawissarocket
catawissarocket is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: pa
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rkymtnh View Post
There were two different trans filter kits to get.
The one I bought, which said it was for the 15 bolt pan, came with a gasket.
The other one says to use RTV.

I also bought a tube of Black RTV, just in case.
I'm assuming you went to auto zone? I saw the same, two different ones to choose from.I'm just doing drop and drain, no flush, so how many quarts will I need?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2013, 10:46 AM
catawissarocket
catawissarocket is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: pa
Posts: 136
Default

Also should I get the one with the gasket or the other that u use rvt ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2013, 03:54 PM
Rkymtnh's Avatar
Rkymtnh
Rkymtnh is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Valkerswille, Marxland
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catawissarocket View Post
I'm assuming you went to auto zone? I saw the same, two different ones to choose from.I'm just doing drop and drain, no flush, so how many quarts will I need?
Yes, Auto zone. Drop and drain also. No flush. Pretty sure OEM calls for 6.6 quarts. I went with Auto zone ATF-4 for Chrysler. It was either that or Valvaline ATF-4.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
eagle101
2nd Gen Ram Tech
4
07-17-2015 11:07 AM
mTn_biKer65
3rd Gen Dakota
1
07-16-2015 02:07 PM
HappyDodger
3rd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-15-2015 04:20 PM
colons3499
Dodge Neon
0
07-09-2015 03:57 PM
5.9Durango360
1st Gen Durango
2
07-06-2015 08:59 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send