Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

how do you reset the ecm?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-09-2010, 03:20 PM
badblackram06's Avatar
badblackram06 badblackram06 is offline
Veteran
2006 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 06 Ram 1500 SLT 4.7L
Location: Southwest, MS
Posts: 479
Default how do you reset the ecm?

How do you reset the computer on an 06 ram? I have searched and have not found it. I want to try by pulling the fuse and cycling the ignition but i don't remember how to do it. If someone can help me out I'd appreciate it.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________

NEXT: wheels
2006 Ram 1500 4.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2010, 03:38 PM
AWE Daniel's Avatar
AWE Daniel AWE Daniel is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Location: Trenton FL
Posts: 366
Default

Thanks goes to hammer

1) Pull fuse #19 or #23 or #31 (vehicle year dependent, but it's labeled)
2) Close door and buckle seatbelt (technically you don't have to buckle the seatbelt, but it helps to stop all unnecessary chimes)
3) Put key in ignition and turn to "on" and wait until all chimes stop (on...not start!)
4) Turn key to start and hold until you hear 2 chimes (I think it was about 15 seconds or so.
5) Turn key off
6) Re-install fuse
__________________

2004 Dodge Ram 1500; HEMI 5.7, 2wd, Nitto Tera Grapplers, 8k Hid Headlight Upgrade, JVC In-Dash DVD, 12" Sub under rear seat, Predator 87 Tune, LED Crazy=LED Dash+Dome+Reverse+Driving Lamps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2010, 07:23 PM
badblackram06's Avatar
badblackram06 badblackram06 is offline
Veteran
2006 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 06 Ram 1500 SLT 4.7L
Location: Southwest, MS
Posts: 479
Default

i did this but only heard 1 chime which was the air bag light coming on. Would it be different on certain year models??
__________________

NEXT: wheels
2006 Ram 1500 4.7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2010, 07:44 PM
RedTruck-VA's Avatar
RedTruck-VA RedTruck-VA is offline
Champion
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 03 Ram 1500 SXT-Hemi (2wd) Lc#15, rTc#20, hTc#38
Location: La Union, Philippines
Posts: 2,728
Send a message via Yahoo to RedTruck-VA
Default

Take the cover off of the fuse box. Under the top is a diagram of the individual fuses. Look for the PCM fuse, mine I think is #16. Remove the fuse and do as mentioned above.
__________________
PI_greg, TOTM 2010, 03 Fogottens #2, 08 SLT Rims, 285/50-20, SLT Leather interior, Edge TC, DTT w/4:10, Mcgaughy’s 2/4.5 drop, Caltracs, AI gage, eFan, HD trans cooler, 180 stat, Fastman TB, K&N 77 CAI, TMR, Pwr Wire, Trans wire, Mag duals
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2010, 08:54 PM
badblackram06's Avatar
badblackram06 badblackram06 is offline
Veteran
2006 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 06 Ram 1500 SLT 4.7L
Location: Southwest, MS
Posts: 479
Default

I took the right fuse out. mine was #31. I did everything mentioned but instead of hearing 2 chimes within, lets say 20 seconds, I only heard 1 chime and that 1 chime was the air bag light coming on during which i still had the key held at start. I even held it close to a minute hoping to hear another chime. I've done it 3 times but get the same results. I do appreciate the help though.

I have been told that some newer model vehicle's computers have to be reset using the scan tool. I dont know if that applys to mine or not.
__________________

NEXT: wheels
2006 Ram 1500 4.7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:02 PM
Atomic Punk's Avatar
Atomic Punk Atomic Punk is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 03 Dodge Ram 1500
Location: Arlington tx
Posts: 23
Default

Sorry read ur post wrong

Last edited by Atomic Punk; 07-09-2010 at 09:14 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:25 PM
RedTruck-VA's Avatar
RedTruck-VA RedTruck-VA is offline
Champion
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 03 Ram 1500 SXT-Hemi (2wd) Lc#15, rTc#20, hTc#38
Location: La Union, Philippines
Posts: 2,728
Send a message via Yahoo to RedTruck-VA
Default

Reboot is just is like restarting a computer. Reflashing takes the StarScan to reinstall the operating system. If the PCM has been rebooted on my 03, the first time I try to start the engine, it won't do anything when I turn the key. The second time I turn the key it then acts normal and starts. That's what I call a reboot.
__________________
PI_greg, TOTM 2010, 03 Fogottens #2, 08 SLT Rims, 285/50-20, SLT Leather interior, Edge TC, DTT w/4:10, Mcgaughy’s 2/4.5 drop, Caltracs, AI gage, eFan, HD trans cooler, 180 stat, Fastman TB, K&N 77 CAI, TMR, Pwr Wire, Trans wire, Mag duals
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:37 PM
badblackram06's Avatar
badblackram06 badblackram06 is offline
Veteran
2006 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 06 Ram 1500 SLT 4.7L
Location: Southwest, MS
Posts: 479
Default

Ah i see. Mine cranks everytime after i do it so it may not be rebooting. I will see if this works on my buddies 04.
__________________

NEXT: wheels
2006 Ram 1500 4.7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2010, 10:30 PM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,742
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

just for the sake of clarifying, ECM's came on CTDs and PCM came on gassers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2010, 10:51 PM
badblackram06's Avatar
badblackram06 badblackram06 is offline
Veteran
2006 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 06 Ram 1500 SLT 4.7L
Location: Southwest, MS
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weedahoe View Post
just for the sake of clarifying, ECM's came on CTDs and PCM came on gassers
ha yeah my mistake. I caught it right after i posted. I should have known since i had been pulling the PCM fuse.
__________________

NEXT: wheels
2006 Ram 1500 4.7
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:51 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails