Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

check engine after stereo install

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-25-2013, 02:44 AM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default check engine after stereo install

i just had a stereo installed a couple days ago, a sony cdx-gt700hd, in my 2003 1500. i took it home and drove it the following day making sure to remove the faceplate before turning the truck off. yesterday i didnt turn off the stereo or remove the faceplate leaving the truck off for a couple hours, when i tried to start the truck it was struggling to run and i noticed the check engine light was on, after starting it died when going in reverse. the truck started up fine after dying and ran just like it had before leading me to think the battery was being drained by the new stereo. i reset the computer and the engine light didnt return after running the engine for a couple minutes. after driving it during last night the engine light came back on. i made sure to disconnect the faceplate before i turned the truck off. all my dials and lights were working normal throughout this entire process. any ideas on what is setting the light off?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:27 AM
04HemiGreg's Avatar
04HemiGreg 04HemiGreg is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 04 1500 4x4 SLT Hemi
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,128
Default

You really should scan for the code that is causing the cel. I don't think a weak battery would trigger a cel.

Also, removing the faceplate shouldn't make a difference if the stereo was installed properly. There are typically 2 power feeds to the radio. The main power is on when the truck is keyed on and then there is a constant power feed that is a very low draw to maintain radio settings and presets and such. When you turn the truck off, if the radio turns off, then removing the faceplate will not help any further.

Now, I see that you have a Sony head unit. I recently helped a member of the golf cart forum I go to that just put a Sony deck on his cart and he said the faceplate stayed lit even when he pushed the power button to turn it off. Turned out it was a "feature" of the radio and in order to turn the unit off completely, he had to hold the power button for 2 seconds. His unit also had a function to set it to auto-power off after an amount of time. All that said, a cart install and a vehicle install are different in that the main power on a cart is usually not keyed so the radio doesn't know when power should be off. However, I have seen people install car radios and just tap a 12v source that is not keyed and forces you to have to turn the radio off manually.

Not sure how any of this could be related to your cel but having the code may help clear that up.
__________________

2004 1500SLT Sport QC Hemi 4x4; Leveled; 35" Nitto Mud Graps on 17" Moto Metal 951's; True Duals

Last edited by 04HemiGreg; 04-25-2013 at 10:16 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2013, 09:27 AM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,489
Default

What year is your truck and did it have the Infinity Sound System installed from the factory. (it should say "Infinity" on the door speakers).

We need to know what the Diagnostic Trouble Code is in order to help you a little better.
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2013, 03:51 PM
Duck's Truck Duck's Truck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Vehicle: 2003 Ram 1500 5.7
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
Default

I can't see a stereo install having anything to do with the cel light. Do the switch trick(turn the key on and off three times quickly) and see what codes pop up and get back with us.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2013, 09:38 PM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

the fault code is p 0344
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2013, 10:56 PM
04HemiGreg's Avatar
04HemiGreg 04HemiGreg is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 04 1500 4x4 SLT Hemi
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,128
Default

Well, I'll be damned. That code indicates a faulty camshaft position sensor but among the possible causes is a dead or weak battery.

Click here for info:

http://engine-codes.com/p0344.html

Is your faceplate not turning off when you turn the truck off? If not, I would take it back to whoever installed it and get it installed right. I just put a new unit in my truck and had to purchase an adapter for the vehicle wiring harness and was told that one would be required no matter which unit I installed, at least that would be the case if I wanted to keep the factory sound system, which I did.

Post more about what you know you had for factory system, what you bought and had installed and what you kept. I am wondering if they bypassed the need for an adapter and just started cutting and splicing wires and made a mistake.
__________________

2004 1500SLT Sport QC Hemi 4x4; Leveled; 35" Nitto Mud Graps on 17" Moto Metal 951's; True Duals
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2013, 02:08 AM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

i dont know if they spliced wires installing the new stereo, i have the infinity sound system. i also didnt get the adapter needed to enable steering wheel controls, i know that required splicing wires. how else would i check without pulling the panel off and manually checking the work performed other than calling the shop that installed it and asking them? i didnt receive a work order or receipt from the business so i dont know if the technicians even recorded what steps they performed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2013, 09:27 AM
04HemiGreg's Avatar
04HemiGreg 04HemiGreg is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 04 1500 4x4 SLT Hemi
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,128
Default

Wow, doesn't sound like somebody I would want installing anything for me. I buy from crutchfield and do the work myself. They told me an adapter is required for an aftermarket stereo to be compatible with the factory wiring and factory amp and speakers. And part of the reason for that had to do with where power has to be drawn from on these trucks as opposed to what is available on the factory harness. I also had to get the steering wheel adapter and it just basically plugged into the other adapter.
__________________

2004 1500SLT Sport QC Hemi 4x4; Leveled; 35" Nitto Mud Graps on 17" Moto Metal 951's; True Duals
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2013, 06:36 PM
adamj546's Avatar
adamj546 adamj546 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Vehicle: 06 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi Mega Cab
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 64
Default

im guessing they bypassed the wire and just tried to splice which is a no no with these trucks especially if you have infinity system as I believe all infinity's have the rap where some settings will stay on after key is off till the door opens. There are tons of people who have issues with the rap functioning correctly with aftermarket stereo's as well. Another possible cause is if they cut some wires and didnt cover them correctly and left them bare and free floating if it grounds it could put extra draw on your system as well.
__________________
2006 Dodge Ram Mega Cab Laramie all stock with cherry bomb extreme in the mail.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:13 PM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

looks like im going in and taking a peak around, kinda defeats the purpose of having "professions" do it to save me time huh. on a related note, would this CEL cause my idle to drop and almost kill the truck by letting off the gas? i was checking the battery to check charging output and really noticed it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:30 PM
04HemiGreg's Avatar
04HemiGreg 04HemiGreg is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 04 1500 4x4 SLT Hemi
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,128
Default

Hard to know for sure. Too many variables at this point. You can troubleshoot the code for the cam sensor and hope its just coincidence that the cel came right after the stereo. Or, verify the stereo is installed properly and there are no poor grounds or bad splices and then see if the other issues go away.

Not sure how professional they are to begin with if they don't even give you a receipt listing what you paid for. And if they did bypass the harness and cut and splice your wiring, they definitely aren't professional. I am about to change the head unit in my Chevy and keep the factory sound and that requires an adapter harness as well. So Rams aren't special that way and a pro should know that.
__________________

2004 1500SLT Sport QC Hemi 4x4; Leveled; 35" Nitto Mud Graps on 17" Moto Metal 951's; True Duals
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-29-2013, 05:00 PM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

had the battery tested at local battery shop, tested fine. the only spliced wires following stereo instillation was pre-harness through a black/red wire going into what looked like a fuse connector. new fault code of p-0340 engine-codes.com/p0340.html could it be that it is the camshaft sensor and it was just coincidence it happened after getting the stereo installed?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0609-2.jpg (94.5 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-29-2013, 10:16 PM
04HemiGreg's Avatar
04HemiGreg 04HemiGreg is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 04 1500 4x4 SLT Hemi
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 1,128
Default

There should be no spliced wires except between a new adapter, which should be plugged in at one end to the factory wiring harness, and the new head unit. I don't know the wiring scheme for these trucks, but if they pulled a rookie move and went looking for a hot red wire with12v and a black ground wire, they didn't do it right.

Read this link and look at all the possible causes for a p0340. Your issue just after a hacked stereo install just sounds too fishy to not be related.

http://www.obd-codes.com/p0340

I had to buy the adapter below to install my new radio to the factory system.

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_120CHTO...e.html?tp=3486
__________________

2004 1500SLT Sport QC Hemi 4x4; Leveled; 35" Nitto Mud Graps on 17" Moto Metal 951's; True Duals
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-30-2013, 09:53 AM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 04HemiGreg View Post
There should be no spliced wires except between a new adapter, which should be plugged in at one end to the factory wiring harness, and the new head unit. I don't know the wiring scheme for these trucks, but if they pulled a rookie move and went looking for a hot red wire with12v and a black ground wire, they didn't do it right.

Read this link and look at all the possible causes for a p0340. Your issue just after a hacked stereo install just sounds too fishy to not be related.

http://www.obd-codes.com/p0340

I had to buy the adapter below to install my new radio to the factory system.

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_120CHTO...e.html?tp=3486

These issues are likely 100% unrelated, just coincidental.

Replace the sensors, he will only need the CHTO-02 Harness if he has a 2004 or higher from what I remember...

Since he did have the Infinity Stereo system from the factory, and from the OPs description it sounds like they used an Amp Integration harness which would require that they run a 12+ Ignition power wire. Most of the time installers will just use one of the cig. lighters for this.

That is not "Amateur"... it is required when using those harnesses.

It is "fishy" that this all happened right after a stereo install.... but if they didn't give you any kind of receipt or work order then you are pretty much screwed if you wanted to make a claim against their insurance.

My suggestion is to replace the sensors that are indicated by the DTCs and if it doesn't go away then you will have to get me some pictures of where they wired everything to and we can begin the real fun.
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-01-2013, 11:47 AM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

is it worth paying almost double to get it from my local dodge dealership or will the duralast model at autozone work fine? it has a limited lifetime warranty but says it may need a pigtail to install correctly
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-01-2013, 12:40 PM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,489
Default

pig tail is what should be plugged into the switch that is in there now...

Honestly I would go to Rockauto.com and purchase it from there... I never buy the "re-manufactured" trash from those stores....
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician

Last edited by Izero; 05-01-2013 at 12:48 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-02-2013, 12:50 AM
SteveRamirez SteveRamirez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default

needed a quick fix so i went with the autozone part. started and stopped it 4 or 5 times over the course of 20 miles, no CEL. sometimes wants to go to a worryingly low rpm(350-500) when decelerating and sometimes idling. is this normal if it only occurs occasionally? ive read threads where the tps has caused this to happen without setting off faults.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-03-2013, 12:45 PM
Izero Izero is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,489
Default

it is possible that the TPS system is giving you an issue, but I would also check for vacuum leaks, as they can cause that to happen too
__________________
2008 Dodge RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4

Need Help? Read This First
MECP Certified Technician
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:45 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails