Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Caravan
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!
Sponsored by Dodgetruckparts
Click Here


2006 won't start. Shifter issue

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-11-2012, 05:34 PM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default 2006 won't start. Shifter issue

2006 Caravan 345,000 miles.

Ran fine, then suddenly it wouldn't start. Noticed that the shift indicator showed it was in Reverse or any other gear, but never in Park or Neutral. I assume that means the ECU thinks it in a gear and won't allow it to start. I can jump the starter with the key on and it will crank just fine but it won't fire.

We threw a range switch at it and no love there. I have tested the harness from the range switch to the PCM and everything is good there. I even put the harness connector on the old switch and tested through the switch and the connectors to the PCM and all is good.

I have tested the ground for the range switch and that is good.

Where is the ground for the PCM?

What else am I missing? I have found a thread someplace where all of the blocks were lit around all of the indicator letters like we have now but I can't find it anymore...
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2012, 05:58 PM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

I have the trans harness out and I hooked up the four wire connector that has the ground wires running through it. I then put my test light on the pins at the ECU connector (not the ECU) and the test light came on, verifying that I have a good ground.

What else?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:05 PM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

Snagin' frazzin' friggle frack.

It works now. WTMFF? I had the harness off and back on and the battery disconnected for longer than I had earlier, so was it a bad connection or was it the switch and it had to reset with the battery cable off?

The big problem is that this hauls people in wheelchairs and breaking down is a bad thing.

Any suggestions on what else may have gone wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2012, 12:55 AM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

So, now that it's running, I figured that I would put down what I learned and how I tested it all.

As I have been thinking about this tonight I realized that when the gear indicator moved through the drive gears, it showed where the range selector switch wasn't working. So how does the range selector switch signal what gear you have selected? I was stumped since there are only four wires signalling six different positions, until I really got the wood burning. The switch controls grounds for the PCM, and depending on what combination of grounds, the PCM sees what gear you have selected.

Pin 7 is grounded in N, D and L
Pin 8 is grounded in P, 3 and L
Pin 9 is grounded in P, R, N and L
Pin 10 is grounded in P and N

Put another way:
In P, pins 8, 9, and 10 are grounded
in R, pin 9
in N, pins 7, 9 and 10
in D, pin 7
in 3, pin 8
in L, pins 7, 8 and 9

Now that I have this typed out, I can see that pin 10 circuit must not have been working. Actually, this gives me more confidence that the switch was the problem and I just needed to reset everything.

The range switch was about $50 so it's not expensive, but you need to ball-up to swap it out since you have to drop the trans oil pan and valve body:

Start by disconnecting the shift linkage. It just pulls straight up. Then loosen the bolt on the shift lever where it attaches to the shaft going into the transmission.

Have a drain pan handy and drop the transmission oil pan and filter. Find the 10 MM-headed hex bolts; there are a bunch of them, I didn't count. When you get the last ones out you will get more oil running out so be ready. The valve body will now drop out. The shift shaft comes out with it so you have to wiggle things around a bit to get it to come down.

CAREFUL. This is where the pucker factor increases. There are two accumulator pistons with springs that are held up by the valve body and they WILL fall down when you lower the valve body. I wasn't ready for this so I had to spend some time figuring out what went where since one piston had two springs and one had one spring. What it came down to is that... you know how that grey metal dirt coats stuff in a transmission? I saw where the springs sat on the plate of the valve body and I saw the witness marks of the inner spring in one spot and not the other.

Anyway, you should now have the valve body in a clean work place. Just one torx-headed screw holds the switch in place. Remove it and the switch comes up. There is a seal on the shift shaft and in a perfect world, you would want to replace that seal after you put the new switch in place.

To install the valve body with the accumulator pistons and springs, I cleaned the parts and the bores with brake cleaner and blew them off so they would be dry. I then loded things up with Vaseline brand, pure petroleum jelly and put the accumulators and springs in the bores. I forgot what the torque is on the bolts. Sorry.

Other than that, assembly is the reverse of removal.

The grounds for the PCM run through the four pin connector near the PCM in front of the front, left wheel. It's the black wires, I didn't get the pin numbers. They connect to the battery ground. To test the circuit, I pulled the connector from the PCM and found pins 13 and 14 and - with the four pin connector connected, I used a test light. the clip was one the battery positive and I probed pins 13 and 14 with the pointy end. Since the test light lit up, that showed that the ground was good. I could have used a multimeter to test resistance, but with the test light, that puts a load on the ground circuit so if there is corrosion or something in the circuit, this will show it. A nice, bright light is a good thing - a dim light indicates high resistance.

I'm tired now and maybe I'll think of more information later.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2012, 07:46 AM
deeznutz deeznutz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I signed up here to say thanks for the run down. My wifes van is a 07 grand caravan sxt with this issue. Last night I went a head and did the trs with my fingers crossed but unfortunately no avail. Pretty sure the old one was dead as it start to show reverse while in park and starting occasionally to all blocks lit up in the shift indicator and no start. Now with new trs shows in reverse and no park or neutral again

Any other ideas? I've left the battery cables disconnected in hopes it will "relearn" or something but over night did nothing. Very frustrating
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2012, 09:50 AM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

Deez, did you check all of the wiring for the TRS? The battery acid ends up dripping right on top of this area and can eat things up. You can pull most of the wiring harness out very easily. There are just four connectors on the transmission. The TRS that you know about, The output speed sensor just above it, the solenoid connector right next to the trans cooler lines that is held on with an 8MM or 5/16 headed screw then the Input speed sensor right below where the cooler lines go into the trans. Then you can pull that parts of the harness out towards the tire and work on it. The rest of the harness goes to the computer, and you have to pull the bumper to get to that.

I have had ours off three or four times in the past couple of weeks so it's still fresh in my mind and I can walk you through that, but only for a couple more days. I have a Sprinter Transmission to think about now and it's already starting to push out what I did.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2012, 01:50 PM
deeznutz deeznutz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you sir. I'll be looking into the harness when I get home tonight. What a pita! I'll report back before you lose the info! Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2012, 06:19 PM
deeznutz deeznutz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks again TDI. It ended up being a wire broke on the trs harness. I appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2012, 09:12 PM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

I may need a trans harness now. The van did the exact same thing in the exact same parking spot as last time. According to the diagram, I should have been able to start it by jumping pins 8, 9 and 10 to ground, but no love. So either the wiring is bad or the new switch is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-06-2012, 07:27 PM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

Well, Sigh...

This van is troublesome these days. I have had the wiring harness off completely (Five minutes, without pulling the bumper, BTW) and opened it up and everything is perfect in there. I put it back together and everything is back to working just fine.

I am very sure that the problem isn't in the wiring and it has a new switch, but I'll have to check that again if it fails again.

The question I have is that if the wiring is good and the switch is good, that leaves the ECU. $650ish plus flashing at the dealer and $150ish from the bone yard, but what would I need to do if I get one from the bone yard? Can that be flashed somehow?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-06-2012, 11:32 PM
Cougar41 Cougar41 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,876
Default

Or you can get one from any of several on-line venders for around $150 and it will arrive programmed and ready to install. They all come with at least a year warranty.
__________________
We took the time to answer your post. Please give us some time and post the fix. You'll help hundreds!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-07-2012, 12:10 AM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar41 View Post
Or you can get one from any of several on-line venders for around $150 and it will arrive programmed and read.y to install. They all come with at least a year warranty.
How does one go about finding one of these vendors? Is there a section here for vendors? I should know that by now, but sadly, I don't.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-07-2012, 01:37 PM
Cougar41 Cougar41 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,876
Default

This is one of the most mentioned sources I read about on forums: http://www.autocomputerexchange.com/
There are others. Google automotive ECU repair or similar. Parts stores such as AutoZone can order them.
__________________
We took the time to answer your post. Please give us some time and post the fix. You'll help hundreds!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-07-2012, 02:13 PM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

That one is $25 more than the one I just ordered at carcomputerexchange. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-07-2012, 07:34 PM
Cougar41 Cougar41 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,876
Default

Hey that works.
__________________
We took the time to answer your post. Please give us some time and post the fix. You'll help hundreds!

Last edited by Cougar41; 11-07-2012 at 07:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:51 AM
rkcj157880 rkcj157880 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Default 2006 dodge grand caravan

Have a 2006 dodge grand caravan shift indicator in reverse no park or neut. When in r is in park veh.will not move,D is neut. can move push van. will not start changed trs switch in trans. twice,checked all grounds,changed fuse box under hood,computer on trans.,cleaned all terminals and still no start all the same. has anyone ever fixed this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-05-2014, 11:52 AM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkcj157880 View Post
Have a 2006 dodge grand caravan shift indicator in reverse no park or neut. When in r is in park veh.will not move,D is neut. can move push van. will not start changed trs switch in trans. twice,checked all grounds,changed fuse box under hood,computer on trans.,cleaned all terminals and still no start all the same. has anyone ever fixed this problem?
So what have you tested? I don't mean what have you changed, but what have you tested? You are losing a signal somewhere, so you need to find where that signal is being lost. Inspecting and checking isn't testing, you need a wiring diagram and a DVOM to test the system.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-05-2014, 05:04 PM
rkcj157880 rkcj157880 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Where do I get wiring diagram?Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-06-2014, 11:43 AM
tdidog tdidog is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: TDIs... Duh!
Location: Oregon
Posts: 125
Default

Check your local library to see if they offer an online access to repair manuals and hope that it's not Chiltons. Chiltons wiring diagrams suck.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-07-2014, 09:19 AM
DodgeCACares's Avatar
DodgeCACares DodgeCACares is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkcj157880 View Post
Where do I get wiring diagram?Thank you!
rkcj157880,

Service Manuals are available for purchase through our Mopar TechAuthority website (https://www.techauthority.com/en-US/Pages/Home.aspx) or by calling 1-800-890-4038.
__________________
Dave P.
Top Care Specialist
FCA Canada
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 09:19 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails