Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > Dodge/Ram Diesel
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Dodge/Ram Diesel Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:45 AM
mjhzn6 mjhzn6 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Tire Pressure Monitor Light

I just mounted some new tires and wheels on my 08 Ram 2500. Obviously getting rid of the old wheels also gets rid of the tire pressure sensors. Now my light is always on. Is there anything I can do to eliminate this. Thanks in advance.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:23 AM
12valveman 12valveman is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 146
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

take the bulb out or put tape over it you can thank ford for that option i have not seen a way to eliminate it and i work at a dealer unless there is some aftermarket way that i have not heard of but your stuck with it on unless you mount the sensors in your new rims
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2008, 11:59 AM
CowboyBob CowboyBob is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,387
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Yeah I was goinig to say the same thing. Mountthe sensors in your new wheels. I know that there are some aftermarket ones that screw into your valve stem, but I don't know if they are compatible with the OEM setup. I'm sure that it will only be a matter of time before the aftermarket catches up and makes something that is compatible.
__________________
01 2500 CTD 6 Speed, Exhaust Brake, 90 Gallon Aux Tank, Hypertech Stage 3, Dual Lift Pumps. Running B20 24/7.
96 Ram 1500 318 Magnum, Bone Stock.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2008, 01:00 PM
Az2500Cummins08 Az2500Cummins08 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 1,015
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

I just got new tires on. I am assuming the sensors are still in my wheels. My TPM light is also on, how do I get it to shut off?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2008, 01:15 PM
mikebol mikebol is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 280
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

I test drove an 08 before finding the 07.5, the 08 had this feature and the light was on during the test drive. The saleman assured me it was "nothing".

I'm with you AZ, any light that stays on in the dash is annoying as heck and I'd want it fixed or for the bulb to just burn out.

Mike
__________________
2007.5 Dodge Ram 2500 QC 4X4 SLT TRX4
6.7 CTD 6spd Auto
Stock drop in bedliner, Dodge factory step bars
2008 Forest River Wildwood 29BHBS LE

There's no replacement for displacement
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2008, 02:01 PM
mjhzn6 mjhzn6 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Yeah I am just annoyed by it. I know why its there just dont like it. It chimes four time everytime I start up. Just annoying. AZ, I read somehting in the manual where you can adjust the pressure in which it alarms you for when you do get different tires. I didn't read to much into it though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2008, 02:31 PM
12valveman 12valveman is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 146
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

the pressure you need to set it to is on the door plate. on an 08 there can be two settings a low psi and a high psi for load toaters i think it started with the o8's that in the center of the dash there is a light load button that should be on when you only have the tires at low psi and off when your at the highter threshold. then with just driving the vehicle a few miles the sensors relearn to the system with the correct pressure and wala out goes the light hey AZ they could have damaged a sensor while changing those tires for you are you running the correct psi for the door plate? if so that is probably what happened to the sensor should go back to them right away with who ever mounted the tires
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2008, 03:15 PM
07FX4Chick's Avatar
07FX4Chick 07FX4Chick is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 TRX4 & 2007 F150 FX4
Location: Western WA
Posts: 69
Send a message via Yahoo to 07FX4Chick
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 12valveman

take the bulb out or put tape over it you can thank ford for that option i have not seen a way to eliminate it and i work at a dealer unless there is some aftermarket way that i have not heard of but your stuck with it on unless you mount the sensors in your new rims
I am going to jump in here.....when I got my new wheels, I just had them "reband" the factory sensors on my new wheels. Absolutely no problems at all

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________


www.07FX4.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2008, 05:22 PM
12valveman 12valveman is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 146
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

hey wait a ford what the f... she is right though the factory sensors should have worked
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2008, 06:01 PM
dirtydodge02 dirtydodge02 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 3500 QCLB
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Posts: 1,184
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Is there a fuse you can pull to eliminate that?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-24-2008, 06:24 PM
cmharcou cmharcou is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 81
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

we also have nissan pathfinder and that light is pretty much been on since we have had it. Manual says only way to reset it is to take it to the dealer. I put the spare tire on and it doesn't even have a sensor. The nearest dealer is 50 miles away. I am going with the black tape method.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2008, 06:28 PM
Az2500Cummins08 Az2500Cummins08 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 1,015
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Maybe they did damage one. IDK. I aired my tires to the max cold PSI on the tire sidewall on saturday, and it is still on. I just checked my pressure and it is still 50 psi. The stock tires I think take 80 Psi, I am not inflating my new tires to that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:59 PM
12valveman 12valveman is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 146
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

hey dirty dodge nothing you can do to pull any fuse to make it go away. it is part of your skim or your key reciever and is just built into the whole truck no way to get rid of it like i said earlier thanks to your local ford dealer for that with their whole explorer thing but sorry no way to disarm that i have found.
and AZ i am not sure but i think you can change the threshold a little but i do not believe that with the diesel motor in your truck that you can set the threshold down that low. i will check if ya want me to but i dont think it will work you will have to live with the light then because you can only be appx 4-5 psi from the door pillar spec or the light will illuminate. but i think stock low side psi rating for a 089 is 60 front and 50 rear not for sure will have to check a door pillar to find out
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:22 PM
Az2500Cummins08 Az2500Cummins08 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 1,015
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

This is stupid ****. Manufacturers know we are gonna make modifications to our trucks, yet the design these things so when we do mod them, there is something in the way to annoy the **** out of us. What they need to do is stop hiring these college educated weiners they have working for them, and hire logical consumer minded people like us, with the aftermarket in mind. I have a problem with my stereo, it is changing stations rapidly at random, I can hear satan. So I am going to take it in to get it replaced, I will address my tire monitoring system while I am at it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:34 PM
justviper1 justviper1 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 314
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

maybe parts/service would have some advise for what to do. maybe he will see this post or someone could pm him. if it was me i would probably just pull out the bulb if you can. i hate the tps on the new cars they are a pain in the a$$! when you are mounting tires, they break really easy! when they do break they are pretty expensive to replace also! im thinking that the dealerships DRB should be able to tell you if a sensor is bad or if it is a tire pressure issue, but im not 100 percent sure. it is stupid stuff like this that makes me glad that i have an 01 with only 62,000 miles sitting in the garage that doesn't have all of the bs electronic crap on it.
__________________
01 Ram 2500 100HP Injectors, Industrial Injection VP44, 4.5 Skyjacker lift, 37x13.5R16 ProComp X-terrains, 5in custom duel exhaust, AirDog 150 gph and Quadzilla Adrenaline with Pulse. STILL on the stock trans!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:52 PM
CowboyBob CowboyBob is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,387
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

All of this makes me appreciate my 01 that much more. I'm still thinking about buying 2 or 3 of them used at a good price and storing them so when this one wears out, I don't have to put up with crap like this. Who knows what they will have in the trucks in 10+ years.
__________________
01 2500 CTD 6 Speed, Exhaust Brake, 90 Gallon Aux Tank, Hypertech Stage 3, Dual Lift Pumps. Running B20 24/7.
96 Ram 1500 318 Magnum, Bone Stock.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-24-2008, 11:55 PM
ga_noplugs ga_noplugs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 485
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Az2500Cummins08

This is stupid ****. Manufacturers know we are gonna make modifications to our trucks, yet the design these things so when we do mod them, there is something in the way to annoy the **** out of us. What they need to do is stop hiring these college educated weiners they have working for them, and hire logical consumer minded people like us, with the aftermarket in mind. I have a problem with my stereo, it is changing stations rapidly at random, I can hear satan. So I am going to take it in to get it replaced, I will address my tire monitoring system while I am at it.*

Don't blame the manufacturers,, it was our Govt that mandated this. [:@] I found this excerpt for you:



Quote:
This year, April 1 is not merely a day for foolish pranks. It's also the first day of the second quarter, which means certain provisions of the Transportation Recall, Enhancement, Accountability and Documentation (TREAD) Act go into effect tomorrow.

Never heard of the TREAD Act? It's a new U.S. law that legislators said was prompted by the slow pace of Bridgestone/Firestone's recall of 6.5 million tires used primarily on Ford Explorer vehicles, and the deaths of more than 100 people in accidents blamed on the failure of those tires. But the TREAD Act includes numerous additional provisions that involve everything from tire pressure sensors to child restraint seats.

It is a sweeping piece of legislation that requires large manufacturers to report a wide variety of warranty, customer service, and legal data to the federal government, in the hopes that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's data analysis tools will allow it to detect patterns in the data that point to a safety defect of some kind.

__________________
'06 2500 Auto 4x4 Quad CTD Patriot Blue - TST R49, Lorenz 5100+, DiPricol boost/fuel/EGT/tranny, Line-X, Fire/Ice Bar, back rack

10,833 miles to warranty expiration
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:48 AM
justviper1 justviper1 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 314
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

wow sounds like the government just trying to have a say so in one more thing. how about people quit being so lazy and check their own tire pressures instead of this expensive electronic crap.
__________________
01 Ram 2500 100HP Injectors, Industrial Injection VP44, 4.5 Skyjacker lift, 37x13.5R16 ProComp X-terrains, 5in custom duel exhaust, AirDog 150 gph and Quadzilla Adrenaline with Pulse. STILL on the stock trans!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:23 PM
12valveman 12valveman is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 146
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

that is the problem there no one does everyone wants a vehicle that they just jump in turn the key and go why do you think so many vehicles have 100 thousand mile major service intervals and all the warning devices to take the thinking out of it then the people that dont want the added warning crap that causes problems are stuck with it. just to let ya know most sensors for the tires are about 80-100 dollars at this point and the life expectancy is about the 100 thousand mile mark so like buying another set of tires for your car per wheel cost that was , to keep your tpm working oh did i say thanks again ford and who ever wanted to start and madate this crap that we have for the tires
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:56 PM
Az2500Cummins08 Az2500Cummins08 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 1,015
Default RE: Tire Pressure Monitor Light

Quote:
ORIGINAL: justviper1

wow sounds like the government just trying to have a say so in one more thing. how about people quit being so lazy and check their own tire pressures instead of this expensive electronic crap.
Because our country is fat and lazy. My wife wont was her own truck. She bitches at me, takes hers to the car wash, which doesnt do ****, and sits on her *** and plays Wii all day, and talks to her mother on the phone. She bought these valve stem tire pressure monitors deals about 2 months ago, and I have never seen her check them.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 06:56 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
02, 2008, 2500, 67, button, caliber, dodge, light, load, monitor, pressure, ram, sensor, switch, tire, trucks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails