1995-2000 Dodge Avenger The Dodge Avenger had smooth styling in addition to solid craftmanship. To this day you can find Dodge Avenger enthusiasts proud to show of their gems.

My 1995 Avenger Auto Tranny is stuck in second gear!

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2006, 01:18 AM
Georgiaboy6170
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 1995 Avenger Auto Tranny is stuck in second gear!

Hello. I am a newbie to this forum, but I am hoping someone can give me some advice on a problem with my 1995 Dodge Avenger (6 cyl, 2.5L, 24 Valve) Auto transmission. About 2 months ago, I was driving down the interstate agoing about 75 mph and all of a sudden I noticed my speedometer reading drop to "0". I pulled off the highway - checked the fluid level (good) and then I shut the car off. When I restarted the car, I was stuck in second gear and I drove the remaining 20 miles home doing about 35 mph. Well, I took it to a local mechanic and he said the transmission needs replacing (no problems with it prior to this). I have had the car sitting in my driveway since then and Monday I plan to take to AAMCO for a free diagnostic check - could this only require a transmission computer reprogramming possibly ( I read somewhere that second gear is a default with problems). I just am trying to avoid the total rebuild if possible! I appreciate any help!

[IMG]local://upfiles/38420/03EDA03C31FA4222B7CDB20D8848C06D.jpg[/IMG]

Old 06-30-2006, 01:31 AM
05ocsrt4
Rookie
Default RE: My 1995 Avenger Auto Tranny is stuck in second gear!

you need a new trans, the shift controller or something in the system is broken and it went to the default gear which in your car is 2nd, and that is only meant to be driven a few miles and usually if you drive it farther than that, you wreck the trans, but have like cottman trans or AAmco check it out, it might be fine and jus need a new shift controller (sorry i forgot the name of the part)

Old 06-30-2006, 02:01 AM
silvercoupe97
Uber Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator