1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

94 Dakota 4x4 Steering

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2013, 12:47 PM
lastxit
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 Dakota 4x4 Steering - Update - Transmission issue found

Hello everyone - new to the forum.

Just bought my teenage son a 94 Dakota SLT 4x4 ext cab. 5.2L w/auto. Runs great and everything works aside from the classic fuel gauge issue. The steering is a bit sloppy. I know for a fact that the ball joints needs replaced. I'm good with that and can do those myself. What I don't know about since I'm rather new to this model of truck (I've owned all Chevy's and Fords) is what to look at for the sloppy steering issue.

It responds well turning to the right, but coming back left, there's a lot of play and the steering engages pretty quick after bringing the wheel far enough to get it to turn (sort of surprises you when it finally responds). Not what I'd call ideal, especially for a new driver. Tools around town just fine, but on the highway you can really tell when changing lanes, tight turns, etc. I'm wondering what to check on this. I have a few ideas, please correct me if I'm wrong.

Idler arm?
Pitman arm?
Both?

Thanks!

Last edited by lastxit; 05-16-2013 at 10:09 PM.
Old 05-03-2013, 05:46 PM
go-part
Former Vendor
Old 05-03-2013, 06:30 PM
Brian in Tucson
All Star

If you can do the work yourself, you can probably get everything to completely rebuild the steering (if needed) for about $300 (check out RockAuto.)

If you're gonna do ball joints, do the tie rod ends, too. (There are 4.) The idler arm is spendy, but a new (remanufactured) steering box isn't. I don't recall the price of the Pitman arm, but it shouldn't be too much. It's a very conventional steering system on our 4wd Dakotas.