1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Switching from EFI to Carb 1993

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2013, 10:55 PM
dylanjones486
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Switching from EFI to Carb 1993

Hey guys this is my first time posting. I recently got a 1993 dakota and at the moment my 318 engine leaks anti freeze and it mixes with the oil. So I got a carb 318 engine im putting in tomorrow. The only problem im worried about is it being a automatic transmission. Could you let me know what I need to make this switch successful as possible. Thanks ahead of time. It is a EFI at the moment.

Old 06-28-2013, 08:48 AM
cd36
Professional

If you got a carb engine it will be an LA block. I think they changed the motor mounts when they went to Magnum engines (your 1993 will be a Magnum engine), so I'm not sure if an LA block will drop in in place of a Magnum engine. Plus there were alot of upgrades done to the Magnum engines as well.

When they went to the Magnum engines they kept the old LA block motor mount locations, so you could put a Magnum engine in place of an LA engine, but I don't think you could do the other way around without alot of work.

Old 06-28-2013, 02:32 PM
Crazy4x4RT
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

All LA's have the Magnum engine mount boss's. Some have them drilled, some have them drilled and tapped some just simply have the raised boss. So it might be a bolt it might not, you will just have to look at your block. But just so you know that LA will probably be putting out the same if not lower HP then the V6 Magnum. Your going to loose a considerable amount of power as well as loose some MPG's. Just swap in another V8 Magnum, now days they are plentiful in the junkyards.

Old 06-28-2013, 02:58 PM
Brian in Tucson
All Star

Originally Posted by Crazy4x4RT