1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

2000 5.9L Durango Wierd stuttering problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2009, 06:23 AM
FubarGrn
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 5.9L Durango Wierd stuttering problem

Alrighty, this is a last resort for me, before handing this thing over to my local Dodge Dealer to scratch their heads for a while on it. I've been a mechanic for the better part of 2 decades, and I can't nail this one down 100%.

I have a 2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9L 4x4. It ran like a TOP for years (bought it used with 50K on the odo back in 2002). I finally got around to doing a tuneup on it (even though it still ran great, was attempting to get more than 18mpg out of it). So, I changed the Cap/Rotor/Wires/Plugs, tossed in a K&N Filter Element (same size as standard). I used the premium brand (be damed if I can recall it) Cap, rotor, and wires. I used Bosch Platinum +4's (the kind that don't need to be gapped, on account of the four heads on each plug). The problems started about a month after the tuneup.

It's now Stuttering something bad under acceleration, sounds almost like a misfire, but there's no popping out of the TB/Muffler, just a "jerking" sensation. I've ruled out Water in the fuel, as I ran the tank almost dry, and refilled it with known water-free fuel, plus three bottles of Red HEET, and a bottle of LUCAS Fuel injector cleaner.

It is NOT Idling rough, or presenting while revving the motor in Neutral/Park. It's main presentation comes when in Overdrive, and you slowly accelerate to the point where it kicks OD Off, and down into Drive, just before the shift, it shakes/shudders/acts like it's misfiring.

Once that occurs, it doesn't matter how hard you slam the accelerator, it stutters like it has a dead cylinder. If you let off the gas 9 times out of 10, it starts working fine again.