1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Cold Air intake pvc

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2012, 03:17 PM
bigred95
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cold Air intake pvc

Has anyone done this on their truck? I don't want to wing it and get the fuel air mixture wrong. I got the 4.7 and it just has no power. I'm planning on getting headers at some point too, and I got a flowmaster on too. The flowmaster maybe gives you like 1-2 horsepower I'm guessing. I'm just looking to get more power out of the damn thing...

Old 10-23-2012, 03:37 PM
jmess
Veteran

A cold air intake won't adjust your air fuel mixture. That's what the computer is for.

Old 10-23-2012, 03:51 PM
jamesl75

I did this with my old '98 Durango years ago. I used PVC and a rubber joint to get the intake further towards the fender. I then put a large K&N filter on the end. It definitely made the truck sound cooler and seemed to have a bit more power but it's pretty subjective. A couple of thoughts:
  • Make sure you secure the PVC on the filter side so that it doesn't move around. The K&N filter will get damaged easily.
  • The PVC can get warped over time from the heat of the engine.
  • If you really want true cold air induction you need to get the filter further down into the fender and block it from the hot engine air. My '99 Shelby durango has the filter way down in the fender and blocked off nicely.

Old 10-23-2012, 03:56 PM
cummingetit
Professional

I'm told the headers aren't really worth it? I don't have them so i can't confirm. I do have the home brew cai and to me i seem to get less pinging and just a hair more power. Idk if sucking in the hot air was making it ping but it seems to have stopped.

Posted from Dodgeforum.com App for Android

Old 10-23-2012, 04:09 PM
bigred95
Veteran

Originally Posted by jamesl75