1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

dodge transmission guru's i need you

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2014, 08:00 PM
glentonj
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dodge transmission guru's i need you

Ok first im new to the Durango so some questions might seem dumber than normal. my problem is i just bought a 99 Durango with 137000 miles for 600 bucks on cl. the previous owner said that the trans was slipping but as i drove it the trans never slipped actually it pulled very hard but it didn't shift into second even if i moved the lever to 2 it never goes into second. i replaced the speed sensor at the tail shaft of the trans nothing changed. there is no codes stored and my cel isn't on. please help dodge gods. forgot to say its a slt 5.2 auto

Old 01-19-2014, 08:29 PM
adukart
Record Breaker
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts

With a 5.2l it should be a 44re. We need more info to give a better diagnosis but here is how to start. The first thing you should do is check the trans fluid level. Then if that's fine drop the pan and do a filter/band adjustment. While your in there look for anything broke, burnt smelling/bad fluid, or excessive metal.

Old 01-19-2014, 09:34 PM
glentonj

fluid level was perfect she said it happened over night and i was wondering if putting it in second would for it into second or is it all electronic. also it goes into park reverse neutral and drive instantly but drive and under stays in first

Old 01-20-2014, 01:41 AM
adukart
Record Breaker

Well first, second, and third will work with transmission electronics unplugged (these were basically the old non electronic 3spd with an electronically activated o/d unit on the rear). You need to pull the pan. It sounds like a mechanical failure of some sort. Pm user mastertech he is the trans guru.

Old 01-20-2014, 04:39 PM
glentonj