1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

General engine problems - help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2008, 10:35 AM
DCFreak
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General engine problems - help!

Hi, I'm new here, but hoping that I could find some help. I have some basic car knowledge, but don't do any work on them myself, nor would I start now! I'm mostly needing some help diagnosing this problem so that I can have a starting place to discuss it with a mechanic.

I have a 99 Neon DOHC with 128,000 miles. I've been having some engine issues of some sort. There isa rough shift between 1st and 2nd gears (automatic) and sometimes when I'm maintaining a steady speed (45-50mph), the engine sort of hesitates, like a hiccup or something. There is a slight jerk but everything keeps going. This has been fairly constant since I got the car. More recently (2 months?) every once in awhile this is accompanied by a squeak. Also, when I idle in gear (at stoplights), there is sometimes a rough vibration noise in the engine. The whole car doesn't shake or vibrate, but I hear it in the engine.

I think I might have a slight dip in gas mileage, but its not consistent, so it could be unrelated. Car does seem to lack power sometimes, like its just sluggish.

Sometimes when I'm slowing down to come to a stop, the engine does not downshift smoothly and there is kind of a "clunk" that is more felt than heard. Does that make any sense?