1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

timing problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2009, 07:35 PM
tabadboy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default timing problem

My son has a 99 neon.it quit running yesterday.I had a friend come and look at it.he took the valvecover off and said the cams were not turning.He said it was probably the timingbelt.He said it was not a difficult job to do so Im going to start on it tommorow.Hope I can count on some help from ya'll cause i've never done this before.Im a chevy man but we've had this car for 5 years now so i can't just let it die its been a good car.Anyway thanks.

Old 11-22-2009, 08:56 PM
bg1995redneon
Captain

Most likely, the timing belt popped as your friend stated since it was running. These engines are interference engines, so you may have additional problems depending on when/how the belt went out.

Get a Haynes manual. It helps, alot. Buy a full timing belt kit that includes the belt and idler(s). Buy a new water pump. Get both on eBay from mizumo auto (I've used them three times now - good service, great prices).

SOHC:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/95-00...Q5fAccessories

DOHC

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/95-99...Q5fAccessories

You may want to invest in a leakdown tester (or have someone do it for you) to confirm/deny any valve damage. I recommend it as it is quite likely. Mine was damaged when the belt popped and I had to replace both exhaust and 1 intake valve on the #1 cylinder. I DO NOT recommend a compression test as 1) you have to have the timing belt installed to even try it, and 2) if you do have damage, it will make it worse. Harbor Freight sells one for $40.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=94190