1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

Is it worth saving?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2006, 02:41 AM
suzuki joe
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it worth saving?

Hi all,
I'm a newbie here. Been reading a lot about problems with others Neons. I have a question for ya.

I own a 97' Plymouth Neon 2 dr SOHC, w/ about 75000 miles on it.
I think I have all the common problems at once ( water pump, head gasket, valve cover gasket, misfire on two cylinders), and am trying to figure out if it is worth fixing.
I haven't even owned the car 3000 miles since I bought it at a local used car dealer.

It first had the misfire on two cylinders. so I brought it back and bought some wires and plugs. I just got whatever the guy at Autozone reccomended as the best for my car. So I bought 8mm wires, and platinum plugs, and had the local dealer I bought it from fix the car.

Next week I drive it again, and the oil light comes on. I replace some oil time to time.

Then today the water pump dumped all the coolant out of the car, the car overheated and started making strange sounds. I managed to get it home (about 3/4 mile @ 35mph) but it was really hot. The dash starting beeping and smoke was billowing out of the engine bay.

Was there enough time to completely destroy any engine enternals, or should I just try and get everything fixed?

How much total in repair from a mechanic am I looking at?

How long should this car last if I get this done?

Oh yeah, I may need CVs too. I hear a clicking when the wheels are turned.

Thanks in advance.

Joe

Old 01-24-2006, 03:36 PM
Altima_wb
Captain
Default RE: Is it worth saving?

your best bet is to find a good used engine you should be able to find that for under 500... drop it in and call it good... from what you describe it sound like your engine is done...

Old 01-24-2006, 04:00 PM
highline95jl
Record Breaker

The motors trashed. And platnum plugs dont work on Neons for future reference.

Old 01-24-2006, 07:51 PM
suzuki joe