1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

A few questions from a Neon nOOb

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 02:47 AM
JoKeR6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A few questions from a Neon nOOb

Ok. Well I am new to the site, well I'm new to neons all together. My friend just bought a 95' SOHC MTX neon. Our other friend has the same car. Well our friend had 2 wrecked neons, so I bought one for my friend for a parts car (he sold it to me for $25). All my friend wants is the interior and hood(which we swaped already) but I have the rest of the car sitting at my house.

It needs a new rad. support(which I went to school for auto body so thats no problem) and they said the auto trans started to slip bad. He also said the SOHC 2.0 was "blown up" But he could still start it and drive it(since was taken appart and just put back together without everything on right).

My questions are

1) how can I findout what is wrong with the motor. I think its probly the headgasket but I don't know how to findout.

2) I want to go turbo with this car, so I was reading and read that the 2.4 our of a stratus and a 2000 neon 5spd tranny are the best parts for turbo. Also, would it be better to turbo the 2.0 SOHC or DOHC and is it worth swaping to the DOHC if it is better.

3) What other mods should I do with the turbo setup(I know the sts, full exhaust, ect) but I mean should I cam it or will that screw my idle and set the timeing to far off?

4) I was also wondering if it would help much to have it gutted(no interior besides frontseats, doorpanals and dash) or if its not going to make THAT much of a difference. I know lighter is better but does anyone have any idea what the difference would be?

I am planning to drive this car around town and just to play with as a project, something to have fun in and maybe take to the track once and awhile. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Old 06-26-2006, 03:03 AM
das2123
Legend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: A few questions from a Neon nOOb