Noob here needs help plz.

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2006, 03:45 AM
p3
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here needs help plz.

Hey all,
This is my very first post on any carforums ever so i hope i dont make a fool out of myself even if i do please ignore it cause i am dumb when it comes to cars.

I just got a second hand dodge neon 97 model. To be exact :

1997 DODGE NEON HIGHLINE/SPORT
PILLARD HARDTOP 4 DR
2.0L L4 SFI SOHC 16V / FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

Its 5 Spd Mannual Transmission.

Ok i managed to get some info from my car friend in usa about what L4 and SFI means.

the old owner said thats he engine was replace in 98 , so i dont know how authentic his words are, so is there a way to confirm that the engine is not 97 engine and it was infact replaced.

I ran a carfax report on it and it has nothing on it (like accidents or anything). So what could have been reason for replacement if it was infact replaced.

Please explain like ur talking to a noooob, as how to indentify the engine.

It has rust on the bottom right/left doors and i want it coated what paint or method should i follow to get that removed? color is metallic green. I dont have digi on me but will arange one soon to get some pics also.

Old 06-27-2006, 01:36 PM
das2123
Legend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Noob here needs help plz.

Unfortunately, there is no engine identification on the neon's engine.

Old 06-27-2006, 04:29 PM
tomthedog
Captain

neon's are known to have head gasket issues, if it blew it clould have warped the head or jacked up the engine enough for replacement. if you have a "c" in the mid of your vin then it came with a sohc. look at where your spark plugs go into the valve cover. on my 96 sohc the plugs are to the front of the valve cover, on dohc's they sould be more to the middle.

timming belt may have also broke, might be cheaper to replace the engine if it messed the motor bad enough.

Old 06-27-2006, 05:53 PM
p3
Rookie