1st Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 1st gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Cosmetic/General Truck enhancement. 1989 w150

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2013, 10:15 AM
aal3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cosmetic/General Truck enhancement. 1989 w150

Hey guys,

I'm new to all this, I was recently given my Grandfather's 1989 Dodge Ram W150 and I love it. My father and I have done a good amount of work such as replaced the catalytic converter, took apart and cleaned most things under the hood (it had been sitting for 5+ years), we have began to sand and do some body work, we put new tires on, etc.

` I would like to maybe lift it or just make it look a little beefier and I was wondering what the cheapest and best looking option would be. Spacers, Body lift, etc. Now I am a 17 year old kid so money is pretty limited so the cheaper the better. I also am currently in the process of painting it primer black to help cover all the rust, and then from there once I make enough money maybe paint it. Anybody know any cheap ways to paint it? As opposed to spending like a thousand bucks at a place.

Also I think I want to put either a new tip and muffler or full new exhaust system in, which is more practical, cheaper, and better sounding?

You guys definitely know more than I do so any advice on how to make it look awesome would be very appreciated. I also would like to do performance upgrades at some point but I think they are way more expensive than cosmetic, but if I am wrong please correct me, cause that would be awesome too!

I'll upload some photos of what it was when i got it and what it is now once I get the chance.

Thanks everyone

Old 05-13-2013, 10:35 AM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

there is no cheap way to lift a truck. save up some money and do it the proper.