2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

New to sec gen, need to do a swap

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2009, 11:03 PM
dbilik
Record Breaker
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default New to sec gen, need to do a swap

Hey everyone, I am new to the second gen family, just trying to relearn the newer Dakotas now, and the differences as the second gen evolved over the years. Been driving my 95 Dakota for a long time now and came acrossed a 2001 4WD Quad Cab with a V8 in it that needs to be pulled. I currently have a 5.2 318 from a 97 Dakota that I just redid all the gaskets and seals on and is ready to go. Was going to go into my first gen Dakota but not anymore. Been reading on swaps and this isn't a popular one from what I can tell, but in my case it isn't for power increase, it is to get the truck running.

Any advice on the swap? Anyone actually done the 4.7 to 5.2 swap?

My future plans would be to look into pulling the automatic tranny and dropping in my NV4500HD that I got to go with the 318. But one thing at a time.

Thanks for your help.

Here is the 318 I just got done cleaning up and redoing.

[/QUOTE]

Last edited by dbilik; 06-11-2009 at 11:05 PM.
Old 06-12-2009, 01:15 PM
wink2873
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post