2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

5224's or 3923's for 01 QC 3.6L, V6, 2WD??

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2010, 11:14 PM
luvdogz
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5224's or 3923's for 01 QC 3.6L, V6, 2WD??

Got a 2001 Quad Cab, 3.6L, V6, 2WD. Searched this forum looking for which plugs to get for my truck. Almost every post favored the 3923's. Went to Wally World today to pick some up but in the book it says my Dakota uses the 5224's which looked a tad bit bigger. Would someone let me know which ones to get?

Also, I'd really appreciate any info on best cap and rotor, wire set, oil and filter. I searched this too but now I want to double check to be sure what I wrote down is correct for my truck. I'm still new at all of this so any help would be great! Thanks!

Old 08-30-2010, 11:37 PM
dodgeramguy85
Grand Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The magnum motor likes the 3923's the best. I just put them in my 5.2 couple months ago.
Cant remember what the brands I all got but I think it was accel cap and rotor and duralast wire set. I think it was something like 65.00 at autozone for cap,rotor,plugs and wires.

Oil I will only ever use 10w30 valvoline syn blend and as far as filter there is a lot of different views on them I use mopar one on my truck cause I bought 5 off ebay for a discount price but some on here say never use fram cause they are crap but to this day our 04 grand cherokee 4.0 gets them(owned from 34,00 to current 91,000 miles) 07 dodge ram 1500 hemi(13,000 to current 32,000) and the best for last 95 jeep cherokee 4.0 (11 miles to 217,000) All three of those have had only fram filters. Only one showing wear is the 95 using a quart of oil about every 200 miles but hey its my beater so im hard on it.

Old 08-30-2010, 11:57 PM
luvdogz
Rookie