2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Truck Stuck out of town, need help

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2010, 08:48 AM
Brian1972
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Truck Stuck out of town, need help

Hi,
I had my truck break down yesterday while traveling out of town and don't know what to do. I am not a vehicle mechanic and suck at working on vehicles. What I would like to know, if anyone would be kind enough to tell me, is what is wrong with this thing and what I should do. I only have a couple hundred bucks I could use to fix a problem so would I be able to fix the truck or is it a lost cause? Vehicle is a 2000 Dakota 3.9L. I bought it used a few months ago.

Here is the problem. I drove from San Antonio going to a friends outside of George West Texas. When I got to the exit, the truck started beeping and said check gauges. Up to that point the gauges had been fine because I keep a pretty good eye on them. the temp gauge had gone all the way up all of a sudden though. Within about 2 seconds I heard a pop and fluid popped over my hood. Truck lost power, basically shut off I guess. I managed to coast to a Valero parking lot and look under the hood.

I found that a part called the Coolant Pressure cap had broken. It seems to connect the radiator to the engine. I called the wife and had her bring a new cap and the two large hoses that connect to it from the auto parts store. I got them all hooked up.

Now I think I may have messed up at this point but not sure. Once I got it on I figure this is a radiator hose and needs more fluid. I poured about two bottles of radiator fluid into the cap (Coolant pressure cap) figuring this is the place to add it. Started it up but it did not seem too happy. Tried it in reverse and the truck was very jerky. Put it in drive back into the parking spot and was very jerky also, no way in could be driven.