2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

manual locking hubs

  #1  
Old 04-21-2011, 11:02 PM
ryan_brown33's Avatar
ryan_brown33
ryan_brown33 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default manual locking hubs

is it possible to put manual locking hubs on the 2nd gen daks? i got a 2002 qc 4.7 awd. does anybody even make manual hubs for these trucks? i figure if you could unlock the hubs and keep the front drivetrain from, you could save a couple mpg's and decrease the wear on the front end. will it do anything for the AWD? thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-2011, 11:10 PM
ryan_brown33's Avatar
ryan_brown33
ryan_brown33 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

by the way sorry if this has been brought up before in previous threads
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:11 AM
Crazy4x4RT's Avatar
Crazy4x4RT
Crazy4x4RT is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NM
Posts: 10,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

No you can not. By factory it should have a CAD (Central Axle Disconnect) which does the same thing, it disconnects 1 axle shaft so the entire axle doesn't move.
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:28 AM
ryan_brown33's Avatar
ryan_brown33
ryan_brown33 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

im assuming the CAD you mention would be in the transfer case?
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:34 AM
Dakkkota's Avatar
Dakkkota
Dakkkota is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montréal Québec Poutine!
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

CAD??? 3rd gen to?
 
  #6  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:36 AM
ryan_brown33's Avatar
ryan_brown33
ryan_brown33 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

are you AWD?
 
  #7  
Old 04-22-2011, 01:15 AM
Crazy4x4RT's Avatar
Crazy4x4RT
Crazy4x4RT is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NM
Posts: 10,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ryan_brown33 View Post
im assuming the CAD you mention would be in the transfer case?
No like I said it disconnects an axle shaft, so it would have to be on the front differential to disconnect the axle shaft. I'm not sure on all the changes of the years if they did away with it or not.
 
  #8  
Old 04-22-2011, 01:18 AM
ryan_brown33's Avatar
ryan_brown33
ryan_brown33 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

o ok makes sense
 
  #9  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:57 AM
loafer
loafer is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a 2000 QC and there is no axle disconnect. I wonder what years they started using them?
 
  #10  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:19 AM
Crazy4x4RT's Avatar
Crazy4x4RT
Crazy4x4RT is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NM
Posts: 10,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know for sure 87-93 had them. I believe 97-99 may have, then in 2000 it may have changed. Not 100% on it. But most modern 4wd have them.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: manual locking hubs


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: