2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Rust Rust and More Rust

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2012, 05:31 PM
GreenDakotaKid
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rust Rust and More Rust

just bought a 2000 dodge dakota regular cab 3.9V6 4x4 3.92 gears auto. love the truck and plan on keeping it a while. the only thing is both rocker panels, both front fenders and rear passenger side bed corner are rusted pretty good. luckily most of it is surface rust except for the fenders. i plan on fixing it myself with a grinder and Dupli-Color primer, paint and clear, but i have never done anything like this before and am just curious on the best way to attack it and not screw it up even worse. any advice would be great.

Old 05-08-2012, 06:38 PM
dodgeramguy85
Grand Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I never did it myself till I started watching youtube vids and reading up on it. I went out and went to work on my dakota. Grinded it down to bare metal. Filled it in with bondo used 80 grit to work out the big chunks and to get it semi close to the body then used 180 grit to smooth it out and then too 300 to fine it down to get it smooth with the body edge. Did the surrounding area paint so I could blend it in. Sprayed a few coats of primer wet sanded that with 300 to make sure the edges were ok with that. Then got my mixed paint and sprayed it on there. Pretty much it was all trial and error. Finished it off with a few coats of clear and left it at that. You can wet sand the clear with 400grit or something fine then buff it up and get a good shine to it. Since I did a small area I skiped that. I prob did it totally wrong but it worked for me and looked 100 times better than before so I was happy. Total I had about 60.00 in mixed spray paint, primer,clear,bondo and sand paper.