2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

A/C issues, need help before heat hits!

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2012, 08:42 PM
Brian_
Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow A/C issues, need help before heat hits!

since i have a couple of days of free time i would really like to dig into my ac and figure out this issue. first of all i have a bit of a weird musty smell and form what i have read we do not have cabin filters.

here is what my gauge sets are reading with the ac off and then on.
what should it be reading, im new to anything ac related

sorry about the messy engine bay!

NEW PICTURE- truck on, ac on, compressor tripped on with paperclip.

with truck on, ac on max, compressor not spinning

with truck off, ac off

i suspect this could be a leak?

if i jump that with a wire compressor works

could sensors be the cause?

what is a good way to tell if there is a leak? how can i trouble shoot a bad orifice tube? what is the cause of this odor im smelling with air on (mold somewhere im assuming)?

Last edited by Brian_; 05-18-2012 at 11:54 AM.
Old 05-17-2012, 09:28 PM
98DAKAZ
Champion
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Default What I think

First your low side looks way high and your high side looks very low not good. This usually means a bad compressor from my understanding. Look here… http://www.aa1car.com/library/ac98.htm

What you think is a leak is the connection were your orifice tube is you open that connection and fish it out sometimes easy but most times they are in there tight and they always look like they are leaking it’s the tar like insulation wrapped around it it weeps.

Sensors are normally good for many years and if they didn’t work you wouldn’t see the A/C clutch working at all.

Everything looks original meaning you should replace the Receiver-Drier/Accumulator the black thing with three tubs sticking out of it and the orifice tube should get replaced also.