2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Sony sucks

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2005, 11:06 PM
mudkicker78
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sony sucks

I hate when people buy stuff thinking that it is good when it is nothing but overpriced! My friend put a car sterio together and didn't match his components. The head unit he got was nice, pioneer, decent. the sub was fine as well, JL Audio matched to a set of Boston Acoustics all around, 9 speakers in all! I know what I am talking about since i am a mechanic and sub enclosure fabricator, the 4 sets of speakers needs a full 1000 watts, sony's amp cant drive them clean, the sub requires 500 watts min., the 1000 watt amp isnt loud enough without sounding like crap. I told him when he first purchased the system if you go cheap on the amp it is ok, its the easiest piece to replace and upgrade.
I specifacly told him to not get sony, buy anything but, and what did he do he bought sony, not only does he have a 600 dollar sub that needs to be replaced, the amp overloaded like i told him it would! if you go to best buy they wont match your system, if you go to specially auto audio store they will, none of these stores carry sony amps, the ones that do dont make the money the others do! anyway what happened was the sub was overdriven do to distortion at about halfway, not good, the second thing is when the sub finally overheated the 2 amps did as well, I went over what best buy did, since there were no burn marks on the see through ground wire, i checked the power feed, nope, all set their, i checked the fuse, was 25 amps, 5 under what sony recomends, so the fuse shouldve poped before amp meltdown. Other than the melt down they worked great, we returned the amps to best buy to get a runaround, best buy ****ing sucks!