2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Help a clueless 18 year old?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2014, 06:29 AM
DudeGuy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help a clueless 18 year old?

I apologize for the wall of text beforehand

Okay so I'm 18 and this is my first truck (so prepare for what may seem to be dumb questions), I've had it for awhile now, it's a 2000 Dakota SLT 4.7L auto tranny if it's relevant. I've been putting money into the truck for a few months on a few miscellaneous parts that irritated me such as the ignition switch because it had problems, radiator because it was pretty beat up and leaking coolant everywhere and the. However after I tossed it around in the dirt (not too violently) it overheated on the way home on the freeway so i pulled over and everything died as soon as i lost rpm, after inspection white smoke blew out (cracked a head gasket) i was leaking coolant out of the radiator because i lost the drain plug on the radiator (hence new one) and the negative wire to the battery fell off, I'm pretty sure I knocked it loose because the fuse box is a little loose as well. regardless I got it running again just by slapping the wire back on but it died a few times on the way home managed to get it started every time until i reached the off ramp where I had to push it across the intersection and left it on the shoulder for two days after I couldn't get it to start again, towed it home with an extension cord and a F-350 it has sat ever since. roughly two months have gone by, and I can't figure out why its not firing up, I know the head is cracked as coolant spewed out of the exhaust after replacing radiator but my dad believes something else is also the issue. I smell fuel, it wants to crank but cant, I've tried jumping it but that's not it. I'm at a complete loss and every suggestion is appreciated. Should I just drop another 4.7L into it? Or attempt a rebuild with this