2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

99 dakota shuts down when warmed up

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2019, 02:51 PM
al mowbray
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 dakota shuts down when warmed up

I've found lots of useful info on this form in the past, and some ways to troubleshoot my current problem, but no solutions yet, so this is my first time posting on my own.
I have a 99 Dakota 5.2 4x4 automatic with about 140k miles.
The current issue is that, when it warms up, it will shut down. It started with some single shut-downs when driving (kinda scary, no abs or power steering at highway speed!). Now it's been sitting for a couple weeks and every morning it will start right up, run about 20 min, then shut down. By 'shut down' I mean no gas and no spark. When I turn the key I don't hear the fuel pump prime, and when I crank the engine I don't get spark (tested with spark plug test light).
If it sits a few minutes it will cool enough to start again, run for a while, then shut down again. Sometimes I get the 'no bus' on the odometer, sometimes I get a check engine light and I have a code reader that has yielded various error codes which I'll list below. Code reader can also read coolant temp and shut-down happens about at coolant temp of 170F. My current thinking is that my PCM is fried, and when warm it's shorting somewhere and triggering the ASD relay and throwing random codes. My hesitations in just replacing the PCM are:
1. Cost of new PCM
2. Bad PCM was caused by something else- and new PCM would get fried by same problem
3. Maybe I'm just an idiot and it's not actually the PCM and I hate to blow hundreds of dollars
Error codes I've received:
P1492 ambient temp sensor high
P0123 throttle position sensor A high input
P0505 Idle air control
P0443 evaporative emission system purge control circuit
P0108 MAP sensor
P1765 transmission power relay circuit