2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Multiple Issues (Possibly Related?)

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2020, 05:40 PM
tony1098
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Multiple Issues (Possibly Related?)

Hi Guys,

I have multiple issues presenting at the same time on my 1998 Dakota SLT V6. I could use some help connecting the dots. I've been working on cars/trucks for 8 years but this is my first dodge truck. I will give a brief outline of each:
  • The engine backfires (popping noise) (never had this issue before on a vehicle and there's not a whole lot of information online for some reason).
  • Right when these backfires occur, the engine loses power and essentially does almost nothing when i'm giving it 60% or less throttle. For some reason as soon as I lay down the throttle, it wakes back up and takes off.
  • I get a one or twice a day rough idle and rarely it will even stall out.
  • Out of nowhere I will get both the ABS and Brake light illuminating. One day backing down a customers driveway (big hill), I lost power brakes and what felt like brakes altogether and slid down and jack-knifed my trailer. I had a similar feeling of loss of braking power today in traffic, went away almost immediately.
  • Frustrating thing is that I rarely get a check engine light. One time it spit a TPS code, changed that out today actually. The whole issue has escalated recently and I got P0132 code finally today (Sensor 1 Bank 1 O2 Sensor Voltage High).
  • Engine is using much more fuel lately it seems
  • Engine began to overheat while running rough yesterday

Recent Repairs within the past year: New TPS, New Plugs/Wires, New Fuel Pump, New Rack and Pinion and Steering Shaft

Sorry for throwing all this at y'all at once but I want to put all the clues in there. Please advise on what may be the issue here, as always I appreciate the help guys!

Last edited by tony1098; 06-09-2020 at 09:04 PM.