2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

AC project question

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2020, 11:26 AM
Robertwav1
Professional
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default AC project question

Hello all,
Working on a 98 dakota. Has anyone ever used a under dash evaporator for their truck. The heater core is gone, live in Florida so I don't need it. The fan is going and possibly the evap which would all be replaced if I remove the dash. I'm thinking using one of the under dash mount evaps that they have incorporating it my existing compressor, condensor etc. I may bite the bullet and remove the dash, just looking for an easier way. Looking at all options. Thanks for any input as I kinda know most of you will say.....remove the dash. Trucks in good shape, just had it painted. All the mechanicals are now in good shape except for the AC thing. I was an AC mechanic for a lot of years so I don't think sizing the evap will be a problem for me if I decide to convert to an under dash thing. The line set I can make up and make work. I have a new Ram but can't part with my old truck! Just a project I'm working on and almost done. Thanks again.

Old 07-07-2020, 03:35 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,275 Likes on 3,022 Posts

If the heater/fan box is still in the truck, I still think it would be easier to fix what is there, than to add something else......

Old 07-07-2020, 09:40 PM
magnethead
Legend
Received 161 Likes on 148 Posts

Originally Posted by HeyYou
If the heater/fan box is still in the truck, I still think it would be easier to fix what is there, than to add something else......
agreed. Just pull the heater core. You can leave it out, but while you're there, replace the evap core since it's probably rotted out too.

Old 07-07-2020, 11:30 PM
98DAKAZ
Champion
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Thumbs up