2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

Strut Install How To??

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2007, 12:51 AM
neon03se
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Strut Install How To??

Hey guys, I will be installing my Tokico Struts on Saturday! I will be doing it on my own with a buddy of mineand was wondering what tools would be needed and if there is a how to write up or anything. I have never done it before and would like to have an easy installation, that would not take forever to finish. I haven't been able to find a how to, maybe someone has one written up or has seen one before. Any and all help is greatly appreciated! Thanks guys!

Old 06-19-2007, 05:11 AM
neon 05
Captain
Default RE: Strut Install How To??

Tools needed
- sockets: 10mm, 13mm, 15mm, 18mm, 19mm, 21mm deep, 21mm regular.
- spring compressor.
- an air wrench helps A LOT!

front Here goes

1) Loosen the front wheel nuts (19mm). With blocks at the back tires and e-brake fully up, jack up the car from the front motor mount/bumper. when it is high enough, place jack stands in the appropriate place (the frame?) under the car. Remove the tire.

2) Remove the hose routing bracket bolt 10mm from the back (already removed in this pic).

3) Remove the 2 steering knuckle to strut assembly nuts. 21mm. The bolt part is serrated and shouldn't be turned during removal. You may want someone to hold the bolts stationary while you undo the nuts. Pull out the bolt when the nut is removed.

4) Remove the strut assembly mounting bolts. 13mm

5) pull out the strut.

6) Install spring compressors on spring.

7) compress spring until the top of the spring moves freely.