2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Just bought a 99. No Sticky With Basic Info?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2013, 05:37 PM
patrickroy33
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just bought a 99. No Sticky With Basic Info?

This is my first dodge, never thought I'd own one. Bought it spur of the moment from 1000 miles away. Kinda took a chance. I'm a mechanic but wasn't present to check it out. Sent my cousin and had him be my eyes as we went over it. The deal was simply too good and I couldn't pass.

It came from chicago which kills me, 14 years of salt on the roads during winter will not look pretty. However, it's only got 40k

I thought there would be a sticky but I guess not. I will do some research on the truck but I have no, I mean no knowledge of these, usual problems, engine stuff, tranny stuff.....literally nothing. And of course that stuff will take time to find out. Which I don't really have.

I'm flying to chicago and will have about 3 days with the truck, then I will have to drive it 2000 miles to california.

I will do all the standard. Oil change, Transmission Oil Change, Plugs, Diff fluid, transfer fluid, check brakes, etc etc.

Is there an accepted standard of what I should be using for these fluids? Like something these components really like? (also, it's from a dealer, I have no idea what's in it and have records) Like my w126 benzes, i know that for some vehicles it can make a BIG difference which oil or whatnot you use.

ALSO....one big problem I now of. If you don't pull the negative battery cable the truck will kill it's battery in pretty quick fashion. Of course I can go through and find it with reasonable speed but I may not have time to fix it or order a part until I get back to california. Are there any usual suspects that may fail and be the likely culprit here?