2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

New to Site

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2016, 04:18 PM
NFullmer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Site

Hello everyone. Would just like to stop by and introduce myself. The name is Nick. I just bought a 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 Automatic with approx 250,000 miles and RWD for $500. Will post pictures later. please note i am not an expert on vehicles.

Few things i have noticed so far.
  • Check Engine light is on (Have not got the codes read yet)
  • Brake light is on
  • ABS light is on. (The brake fluid that was in it was extremely dirty and extremely grimy so bleed all the fluid out and added new fluid.)
  • Engine compartment has a lot of debris in it.
  • Both sides of bed are rusted a lot. (Wondering where i can find a full bed not just sides)
  • Has a sunroof in it (looks like it was not OEM due to the wires for it are wired up to other fuses in the fuse panel)
  • The entire truck has been primed.
  • The truck drives fine but stalls out often.
  • Leak from the Radiator.
Those are just a few of the problems i have discovered so far.

Now the projects i am wanting to do to it.
  • Engine swap
  • Auto to Manual
  • 4x4
  • Paint everything (engine compartment, engine, outside, frame, ect...)
  • All new wiring
  • All new fluid lines (brake, fuel, water, ect....)
  • New floor upholstery
  • New roof upholstery
  • New Seats (back and front)
  • New suspension
  • Brakes (along with brakes change rear drum to disc)
    Among lots of other parts and accessories.

Basically when i am done with it the truck will be almost brand new. very very very few parts will be from a junk yard. I understand and know that most of the project will be time consuming and tricky.