2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

replacing an oil pump

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2007, 12:32 AM
dangerousdegner
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default replacing an oil pump

Hello all, ah here I go. So I my father-in-law is pretty mechanically inclined, but has no heart, he is suggesting that I don't try to do it myself. Now here are the circumstances, TRUCK- 96 ram 1500,with a 318 95k on her, oil light comes on after engine warms up only when not on the throttle, then oil pressure drops to zero at a stop light unless I ride the throttle a little to keep the rpm's over 1k. ABILITIES- I am no mechanic but I have done all normal work on vehicles, oil, water pumps starters, tranny fluid (dropping the pan) timming belts on smaller cars and what not, so I know I can figure it out. EQUIPMENT- I have access to a shop with a truck lift, air tools and pretty much all standard shop tools ever.
The question how long has it taken anyone here to do this or anyone that you have heard of. Also, aside from the pump itself, and the oil pan gasket what may I need to purchase to GET ER DONE!
Thanks for the help everyone and have a great rest of the week!

Old 04-04-2007, 12:51 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: replacing an oil pump

if you can do water pumps and timing belts, you'll have no problem.
instructions... http://www.pavementsucks.com/tech/rearmain.php