2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Newbie Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004, 12:17 AM
Spartan
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Question

Hey all, Im a newbie here so a little background then questions. Im 17 and just purchased a 99 SLT Quadcab, shortbed with the 360. I have a decent knoledge about cars and there mods "my dad owns a Miata which we put a blower on". However I moved from texas to MI last summer and was expecting to buy a miata .....not a 4x4. I love the truck only complaint is 10-12 mpg, but we didnt buy em for the mileage did we. Ok now for Questions. I would like to Add a 2" leveling kit up front and then possibly a 2" add-a-leaf in the rear "depending on looks with the leveling kit". The reason is more for a slightly improved look and a 295 or so tire size "well talk about " re-gearing" later". however i dont want to use a spacer...to me it seemslike the cheap/incorrect way to do it "NOT saying any one who has done it is wrong....just not the way i would have done it". Can you get a 2" taller spring and the appropraite shock as a package from somewhere? and if so how do you tell how far a shock can "travel/extend" srry term is new to me...?
Also i have the factory 16x7 alloy wheels "not the swept 5 spoke sports or the 5 spoke off-rosds either" can you fit a 75 wide tire on there? currently there 265/70 im just conserend that if i ever get the 295's or so that the tire will look to thin at a 70 width.
Also is there anyone located near Midland MI?
Thnx for the info

Old 12-06-2004, 02:16 AM
Ramtuff
Veteran
Default RE: Newbie Question