2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Timing adjustment?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2004, 03:51 AM
dodgeballz
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing adjustment?

Hi all!
New here, but I think I've found my new home on the web! Everyone here seems very knowledgable and I wish I had found this place a year ago when I did all the mods to my ram! (Lift, Intake, Axle Swap, so on and so forth) I seem to have guided myself through most of this without incident (too much incident atleast), but i always try to get other oppinions as I am not a certified mechanic or anything...yet. Anywho--My timing is like SERIOUSLY off...Way Way advanced...she still runs and drives, but I have lost tons and tons of power...feels like i'm driving a ford or something My question is before i subject myself to the massive amounts of fun, joy, and rapture involved with an all out timing chain/sproket replacement, is there any way to adjust my timing settings? Jesus, maybe if I could SEE the distributor I might be able to tell if there is some way to adjust it....but since I can't, maybe one of you guys could point me in the right direction. Yes, yes new cap, rotor, plugs and wires have been installed within the last 400 miles, but today i decided to check the plugs, see their condition due to my unusualy poor running conditions and my #8 plug is black and gunky as hell! I immagine this has to do with my timing issue...Dont ask how advanced it is, when the #1 plug fires, the notch on the pully is pointing straight up...atleast an inch from the MOST ADVANVED point of the guage on the engine.

Sorry for rambling, but I wanted to introduce myself and explain my problem (one of them) all in one shot.

Thanks in advance for all your help!!

-Dylan[sm=thanx.gif]

Old 12-27-2004, 11:44 PM
Ramtuff
Veteran